Girl On The Run

It’s been a busy day — after a busy few days.

On this perfect July morning, the Gothlet awoke WAY too early for her taste (particularly after watching fireworks the night before), carbohydrate loaded (translation — got to have donuts for breakfast) and ran/walked (mostly ran) a 5K as part of Girls on the Run.  (Check out the link if you have time, this is a really cool idea and organization.)  She’s never run before the last couple months.

Here my 10-year-old Gothlet is, checking out her time as she crosses the finish line with her friend

(though her actual time was a little less, as measured by the radiotransmitters chips the runners wore.)

My friends’ daughters who were also in Girls on the Run ran, and my friends Karla and Lee ran with them (I’m no runner, though I’d happily walk a 5K, & I had to go to work as soon as the Gothlet was done running); and my father ran too, to keep his granddaughter company. I saw many other people I know running (obviously, this was a big race, which was held to coincide with Riverfest). And friends of mine are this year’s Riverfest Commodore and First Mate; they were there cheering runners on too.

After getting the girl carbo-fueled, chipped, and to the starting line where they discussed race strategy (NOT!),

they were off,

and I had about, oh, half an hour to sit on a curb and work on Forest Canopy, before proudly cheering her finish.

I also worked on my Forest Canopy shawl last night while waiting for the Independence Day fireworks at Riverside Park

(believe it or not, there were thousands of people behind me as I took this picture; I didn’t photograph the full crowds, but here’s a picture from earlier in the evening elsewhere in the park)

The boats on the river, which were going back and forth in droves earlier, had by the time of the photo already been herded up- and down-river to clear this part of the river for the fireworks, which are set off from the park across the Mississippi (where we got married, by the way!)

I even knit on Forest Canopy during the fireworks, of which I have no pictures, not simply because I was knitting, and not because I did not wish to take pictures — but because the battery feeb’d out on me.

And I knit on Forest Canopy during the two exhibition dance performances by my daughters (and their dad) yesterday and the day before.

(Gothlet tapping)

(Gothlet and the Preteen in their Dads and Daughters “Blues Brothers” routine, to “Soul Man”)

(the Sole Man, aka Elwood, is on your left as his daughters watch in awe from the non-existent ‘wings’).

Can you tell I’m determined to finish Forest Canopy? I’m knitting it bigger than designed, since I’m knitting with fingering rather than sport weight yarn and since I want a shawl-sized shawl rather than a shoulder shawl. Therefore, I’m now about up to double the number of stitches called for, and it’s taking me a half hour to knit two rows. So I’m ready to be finished (especially since I’m also knitting Wendy‘s Kay’s Diamonds and Purls Shawl (that’s very awkward to type, let alone say), and it’s hard to concentrate on two shawls at once and get anything visible accomplished).

The good news is that, as calculated by weighing my yarn before and after said two rows (twice), I’ve calculated how much yarn is needed for a pattern repeat, that is, about 24 g now (allowing a bit extra for the fact that every other row gets four stitches bigger). And, in order to have enough yarn to finish the shawl and knit the edging a bit longer also (for balance), my careful mathematical calculations would seem to indicate that I need to knit just one more pattern repeat — then start the edging! And, oh so fortuitously, it seems to be the perfect size; stretched (roughly approximating blocking), it reaches from fingertip to fingertip.

So now, I must bid you adieu and go watch “Little Shop of Horrors” and —

knit away on Forest Canopy!

Tomorrow, the results! (I should at least be on the edging, so I can show you something that looks different.) And a request for opinions. Also, a sad frogging story, and the project I should not have cast on yet, but did. (I should feel guilty, but I don’t!)

Lastly, here’s the Saturday Sky while walking along the Mississippi to work after the run:

and upon arriving to work, our patriotic crane.

Hope everyone had a wonderful Fourth of July!

4 responses to “Girl On The Run

  1. To you, too! Your sunset is amazing!

    Can’t wait to see the shawl!

  2. What a talented bunch you all are!

  3. Can’t wait to see the shawl. What do you use to weigh your yarn?

  4. Really cool pictures! Your kids look awesome! Happy 4th to you! (late of course!)

Leave a Reply

