A Lace Knitter on the Edge

So, I’m now on the edging for Forest Canopy, as I predicted I’d be. (I was pretty sure I wouldn’t finish, unless life completely stopped for me and let me knit all day.)

But there was unexpected drama.

I took the knitting with me (of course, it goes without saying, eh?) to the last day of Riverfest this afternoon; the Gothlet wanted to hang there a bit more, and although we’d been there four different times (good thing we only live a mile and a half away), each time was for some particular event, and there was no real walking about, soaking up the atmosphere.

So we let her ask a friend, and go. (The Preteen was in a similar circumstance, but all her friends were busy or not home, so she declined to go ‘by herself’.) I went with them while my husband did some home chores.

In between the bungee jumping , (click for big as desired) sand-art-in-a-bottle-creating , tattooing , waterski watching (some tiny ones!) , slingshotting water balloons , doing the Ironman race (not what you think , investigating anchors , watching jump rope exhibitions, and cooling off : as I say, somewhere in all this array of wonders, as I dug into the backpack for the wallet and the camera — I put down the bag containing Forest Canopy. And it vanished.

To my credit, I was certain it was either at the bungee jump or the airbrush tattoo place (very early on in the adventure), and I realized it within 10 minutes and went back looking for it — to no avail. I asked here, there, and everywhere. I even looked in a few trash cans, thinking maybe someone stole the bag while my back was turned, then might have pitched it when it (presumably) wasn’t what they thought they were stealing.

I was very sad.

Right before we left, I checked back once more at the bungee place. No, the very nice lady still hadn’t had it turned in. But, as I walked around the bungee the other way, I suddenly spotted my GoKnit bag attached by its snap to the top of the fence around the bungee area! Someone, trying very hard to be helpful, had put it up where they thought it would be easier to see, and not be stepped on or casually stolen. Not that I had looked three feet above where I knew I might have left it, but it was a good thought.

I was very happy.

Knitter no longer on the edge — of great despair, in any case! I collected my daughter, who seemed to have contracted some strange disease

and her friend, and returned home, minus a little knitting time, but with great relief!

So, it is with thankfulness that I can show you the current state of Forest Canopy.

The photography is not ideal, as a storm was approaching as I finished the row, so this is an indoor picture, and the project is too big to show it all on the needles it’s on. But it gives you the general idea.

And, I think, allows me to ask your opinion.

So here is half of Forest Canopy roughly pinned out (even not fully stretched, it will total 64 inches wide, about, plenty big!).

Here’s my question for you:

I love these colors individually and together; they remind me of violets in the sand. (Not horticulturally likely, but those are the colors!)

But the green is so much darker than the other two colors that it draws my eye. This is sock yarn, and if this were striping in the context of a sock, it would look awesome. But, of course, in this project, the color repeats make horizontal lines that sometimes coincide and pool. I thought the diamonds in Forest Canopy

would break up any such pooling variegation. But when I look at it — all I see are dark green lines. I am admittedly sensitized to this effect. And the diamonds will be a little more prominent when blocked, I think. But still….

My thought for some time has been to overdye it. This smacks of heresy, of course, to overdye Tina’s gorgeous work; at least that’s how I feel. And It may not turn out better. But if I overdyed with a fairly intense blue, then the green would turn blue-green, the purple would be a different purple (or at least a purplish-blue), and the tan would just modulate, tone down, the blue somewhat. Then I think the green color repeats would blend in much better and not draw the eye.

If I were to overdye it, it would make a certain amount of sense to do so before blocking, instead of blocking, dyeing, and reblocking.

So I’m asking you all:

Am I being overly sensitive, and is the shawl just fine the way it is?

Or would you yourself, if it were YOUR shawl, overdye it (or want it overdyed)?

I believe I’ll finish knitting tomorrow. The day after, if I dawdle a bit.

Not that I HAVE to block it right away, but please do tell me — what do you think?

19 responses to “A Lace Knitter on the Edge

  1. That’s a tough one. (BTW, I’m glad you didn’t lose it altogether!) I like it the way it is, as it has a sort of organic look to it, but I understand your thinking and the fact is that you need to be happy with the project – doesn’t matter what we think. I don’t think I’d attempt the dying without knitting up a swatch and making a test run. You have nothing to lose if you give that a try, right?

  2. I hold out my opinion until it’s blocked. It may change the look totally!

  3. Forest canopy? Don’t you need some green overhead for a forest canopy? I actually think it is beautiful as is. You have to love it however. But for me . . don’t change a thing!

  4. martha in mobile

    Actually, I am working on a shawl that I will definitely be overdying. Like yours, the yarn is lovely in itself. But it’s not what I want in a shawl. So, as Nora says, test dye a swatch. And most importantly — you go first.

  5. Wait until you are All the way done and it is fully blocked. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it as it is. I think you will be surprised once it is stretchec and blocked out completely. Awesome shot of the Gothlet BTW!

  6. I agree with Nora and Deb, even though they say very different things. The important thing is that you be happy with the.

  7. It would seem like an extra step if after blocking it you still aren’t happy with it…but I have to agree that you might be surprised with how the pattern and colors change after it’s completely finished, and blocked.

    But it does boil down to the fact that you are the one that has to like it, no matter how much we all think it looks awesome as is.

  8. tough one.
    secretly I scan through all the pics before I read posts (oops, secrets out) and I was drawn to look at the stripes of green before I saw the diamonds in the shawl. That said, I would finish and block it first, get a good look at it in the daylight, and then decide. If you’re still seeing those stripes first, try your hand at the overdye. I’m sure Tina would forgive you🙂

  9. I am in the camp that thinks you should completely finish and block it before you decide. Stretching it out more may break up the green stripes a bit.

    Then if you decide to overdye – I would talk to Tina and see if she has any ideas for you. And I would certainly do the swatch test as suggested earlier before you do the whole thing. jmho

  10. If it were mine, I would absolutely overdye it. Do not pass Go, do not collect @200, do not wait for blocking, just go for it – and I think it would be beautiful.

    But if it were mine I wouldn’t have used that colorway for this project to begin with, which just goes to remind me that it is NOT mine and that, as others here have said, you are the one who has to love it.

  11. I would totally overdye it. (or in my case, get someone else to do it for me!) In all the pictures you’ve posted on this shawl, I’ve only noticed the green stripes as well. They’re not a bad thing, by any means, but they are the first thing you see. And I believe that your lovely lace should be the first thing you see.

    I think a blue would be a very good choice–for all the reasons you’ve listed, as well as just deepening up the whole tone and letting the lace shine through.

    Can’t wait to see the before and after pics!

  12. My sentiments are probably already known here: overdye, overdye, overdye! Heck, I’ll even do it for you! 🙂

    The other Deb (sorry, Deb) had a great idea too – block it and then see how much you like/dislike the verigation.

    Of course, then I think you’ll want to overdye it even more.

    Are you thinking forest green or a deep plum?

  13. Ok, blue would be a GREAT choice. (skipped right over that bit, I did!)

  14. If it was for me I’d want to overdye it, but it’s not for me, so you should do what you like.

    What ever you decide it’s a beautiful piece of work.

  15. Thank goodness you found it! I’m going to go with finish and block, and then decide. Knitting up a swatch to do a test run on would be a good thing, but I think you are on the right track with the blue.

  16. Very glad you got your knitting back!

    I’d say your gut is right–the variegated colors are obscuring the beautiful pattern. If it were mine, I’d either overdye it or use the yarn for something else if I didn’t want to say goodbye to those lovely colors.

  17. I’m liking the overdye idea, too. Do you have enough yarn leftover to try it out on a test swatch? But, just to be contrarian, the first thing I thought of was putting a dark green border along the edge, to frame it and make the green streaks more integrated with the whole. We eagerly await, etc.

    Astrid

  18. So I started reading the other post and thought oh, no, better go read this one first. The green lines didn’t jump out at me until you mentioned it. I’d say, finish it, block it out, see how you like it, then decide. Maybe you’ll like it? If not, dye away!

  19. Hmmm. I think I’d block it, at least part of it, before you decide. But if the green stripes remained after blocking, I’d dye the thing.

Leave a Reply

