Daily Archives: April 8, 2008

G is for Garden

This is my quintessential Garden picture, a lucky shot from my front steps of the late afternoon sun shining through a Carpathian Bellflower (Campanula carpatica).

You may have seen this in miniature as my avatar, as I love it so much (not that I really think of myself as a purple flower).

I am not a Gardener with a capital G. I’m too busy sometimes, and I tend toward the easy-care rather than the delicate. I do water (though mulching helps lessen the need for that and conserve resources as well), and weed when I have time, and I do love to get out in my Garden and Grub around.  It Grounds me.  So necessary, after all the intensity at work, and Two-Daughter-Drama at home.

But what makes me the happiest is just to be out in my Garden to see the Green and the colors. And to take pictures, so I can remember the Garden during the long, dark, dreary winter. And now, the Hither part of Hither and Yarn allows me to share the photographs with you (as opposed to with my family, most of whom are singularly unenthusiastic about them). Thank you, to all who over the last year have complimented me on my Garden photography!  I’m glad you like the pictures.

Here are some of my favorites over the last year of gardening and blogging.

G is for Garden.