Thanks to all, and yarn for a few!

Thanks to everyone who stopped by to wish me a happy birthday and to share their favorite quotes, poems, songs, and more.   Thank you!  I had such fun reading them all!

And thank you to the Random.org random number sequencer for picking out my lucky winners in the Birthday Blog Contest!

Kathryn, Becky and Gladys all were selected by the randomness inherent in atmospheric noise to receive some lovely yarn.  (The multiple mathematicians who apparently stop by my blog should appreciate that link.)  I’ll show you what they won a little later this week, when I’ve picked out some very special yarn.

Let me highlight their words of wisdom:

Kathryn:

"Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute,
and it seems like an hour.
Sit with a pretty girl for an hour,
and it seems like a minute.
That's relativity."
                        -- Albert Einstein

Becky:

"Victory will never be found
by taking the path of least resistance."
                         --Winston Churchill 

"I long to accomplish a great and noble task,
but it is my chief duty
to accomplish small tasks
as if they were great and noble."
                         --Helen Keller 

"The greater part
of our happiness or misery
depends on our dispositions,
and not our circumstances."
                      --Martha Washington

Gladys:

Something I learned a couple of decades ago,
but still have to remember at times,
is to live -- and make decisions --
with no regrets. This means that I
try (not always successfully)
to look forward and see
if I might regret the action
that I'm about to take.
This doesn't always work at yarn sales. :-)

Words of wisdom in truth, all of them.

Especially the one about yarn sales.  Sigh.

One response to “Thanks to all, and yarn for a few!

  1. I have a t-shirt that condenses Martha Washington’s wisdom, above; it says, Attitude is everything. #1 son pointed out to me that that is only true in a narrow sense, since a person born in a poverty-stricken, food-insecure, disease-ridden third world slum needs more than a good attitude to improve his/her life, but still. It is not a bad bit of wisdom to remember.

    I think I may put the Helen Keller quote on my wall. It too is a good thing to keep in mind every day.

Leave a Reply

