Setbacks

My Rat has the stomach flu.

Here, yesterday before the onslaught, with her sister in Reed Pipe costume.

I just had a tooth pulled today for a failed root canal, and the timing could have been better for that.  (Could have been worse, too, though.)

And I am not going to have enough yarn for the edging of my Aestlight shawl as written.  One repeat took 0.8 grams.  I have 14.8 grams of yarn left.  There are 30 repeats needed. Nope….

Though I do like Astrid the dyer’s idea of ordering more of this absolutely gorgeous yarn, I also want to get this done, AND I confess that the edging (which is more complex than the rest of the shawl, being ‘knitted lace’ worked on both the right and the wrong side) took me longer to do even one repeat than I would like, and required a surprising amount of concentration comparatively — thus I will probably first try changing the edging to a smaller and easier edging.

I have to come up with one first, though.   Which will take me a bit of time that I currently don’t have, between Nutcracker, work, recovery, and all!  So in the meantime, I’ve picked back up a project that was dormant, but that I should be able to finish by Christmas:

A Chevron Scarf (Ravelry link to pattern) in eye-popping colors requested by the RockStar.  I don’t have a decent picture yet, but soon, I hope.

Speaking of Nutcracker, thankfully the Rat is feeling better tonight and should be able to make final dress rehearsal tomorrow, as well as play percussion in her band concert.   Whew.  Now to hope and pray that no one else gets the flu….

2 responses to “Setbacks

  1. I am glad she is better and I hope you get over your toothache.

    Running out of yarn before the end of project is so annoying. I hope you find a nice edging to use.

  2. Oh, ouch! I hope you and the rat are feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

