Aestlight on the Edge

My Aestlight shawl is all done except the edging!

It sounds as though it’s almost done, then, doesn’t it?  Except that a knitted-on edging takes a surprising amount of time.

Also, more yarn than you’d think.  So now begins the exciting time of the shawl:

Will I have enough yarn??

I have weighed the yarn remaining before I started the first repeat of the edging, and I will do so again after the repeat is done.  The small scale I have is good to within 0.1 g, so works well for situations like this.  I should be able to estimate soon whether my yarn will hold out.

If worse comes to worst, I have the same yarn base dyed by Astrid in a deeper color that I could use as a contrasting rather than matching edging, I suppose.  It should be enough, by all rights, but we will see!

By the way, I am agreeing with Kat that this blue is unquestionably Caribbean.  Or at least tropical.  (Hey, Kat, here’s your white sand beach!  Right?!) Despite the fact that I started it at dawn by ‘the lake’, no Northern lake was ever this shade of turquoise.  I think I need a new name for the shawl!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Speaking of tropical, as I took these photographs on the new-fallen snow, I heard honking and looked up to see these somewhat belated travelers:

I don’t know why they waited so long, but at least they were heading south.

Give my regards to those turquoise waters, geese!

3 responses to “Aestlight on the Edge

  1. When I saw your first photo, I kinda wondered how you had found a white sand beach for the shawl. Then my brain kicked in and I realized that *white sand* was really snow. Still pretty, though!

  2. Plan B could be another skein of Prospero’s Sea . . . just sayin’. Then you’d have enough yarn for matching mitts.

  3. Pingback: Blue-ish Skies, Bright Lights, Blue Shawl | Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

