Four Shawls and Two Socks

It’s a gorgeous weekend here, at least for early November (we could have had snow by now), and I may need to go out for a walk in a bit.  Today looks like yesterday did

maybe a little cloudier, though warmer.

But I thought I’d first show you that I have been knitting, during my blog quietness (this being due mostly to work, and a bit of travel).

This isn’t everything by any means, of course!

But: currently I am on a shawl kick, having begun the lovely 22 Leaves Shawlette (Ravelry link) for an acquaintance who recently lost her mother:

(who said prayer shawls have to be boring knitting? By the way, the yarn is Sanguine Gryphon’s Skinny Bugga! in Cowkiller colorway (it’s an insect…).)

and also a shawl of my own design with my usual addiction, Twisted yarn.

The yarn is Arial yarn base (a fine superwash merino 2-ply) in Angst Evolution colorway, with coordinating yarns Drama (blue) and Mope (brown) (the original colorway was named by a preteen….).  I will continue the 2-row stripes for a while more until I run out of the slow color-change yarn  — seen better here:

and then I will add a knitted-on edging in blue.

Finished shawls since I last showed you knitting, are two shawls that went off to new owners:

The first, a special birthday present for a friend celebrating a special birthday: someone who likes warm colors but also wears a lot of black.

(this is me, not Kathe, but I did see her wearing it, and looking stunning!)

This is a modified version of the Annis shawl from knitty.  I modified for the yarn weight and yardage I had, and also left out the nupps (not because of anti-nupp prejudice, but because the nupps would have changed the rate of color change on those rows, which I did not want).  The yarn is Twisted Kabam! in the Ember colorway, one of my favorites.

Overall view:

Lastly, a shawl for a friend going through even more of a life-changing and stressful time than a ‘special’ birthday: yes, more of my Twisted yarn (it is my special yarn for special people.  Including myself, I guess.)  For Lisa, the Tsarina of Tsocks:

A soft hug shawl in merino-silk Muse, in Lagoon colorway: also one of my very favorites.

Here in close-up, and here on the recipient, who graciously took modeled pictures (since I had none) and let me use them.

This is modified slightly from the very cool Bermuda Scarf pattern by Ilga Leja.  It is suitable for any yarn weight; for my vision of this yarn (hills rather than waves), I took out the scalloped edges of the original and free-formed a bit.  (But you should see it in a self-striping or faster color-change yarn, too, in the original form; follow the link to check it out.)

I got to see both Lisa and Kathe, plus another knitting friend, Nancy, during a recent trip to New York City!

Here, my photo from the plane on approach, showing you the gorgeous pre-hurricane weather we had.

Would you believe that I’d never been?  At least, I’d never gotten to stay there: I’d only been through the city on my way elsewhere (and stopped at Kathe’s place for a couple hours once en route).  I had a big meeting there in early September, and delightfully enough, my husband could join me for a couple days around his birthday, and Kathe and her husband put us up the day after my meeting ended.

Before that, I got to walk around Manhattan with Kathe, and eat sushi with my knitterly friends.

(I didn’t ask K about putting her on the blog, so I shall restrain myself from posting her picture…especially the post-sake pictures.  Which I instigated, truth be told.)

Lisa gave me some gorgeous handspun to play with, and I promptly started….a shawl.

(Ooops, the title should be five shawls, I guess!  I barely started this one, though, which is Anjou, and then goofed up on the plane so put it aside.  It’s beauteous, though: the fiber is Spunky Eclectic merino/silk, in the Rhubarb colorway.  (But as dyed on the silk and spun up by Lisa, it reminds me of apple blossoms.)

I could tell you oh, so much more about my wonderful trip to New York, but that would be several posts in itself, so I will stop and finish up with one more FO.

I knit on this in New York, as I have been off and on since this spring….and finally subsequently finished socks for my mother, in another Twisted colorway, Vintage (also in Kabam!, a great sock yarn, being a superwash merino/bamboo/nylon blend).

Pattern is Circle Socks (Ravelry link), a free pattern by Anne Campbell.  These are very fun, and a great pattern for self-striping yarn!

Proof of two socks.  No Second Sock Syndrome this time.

(Not entirely coincidentally, Anne is a talented knitter closely related to the talented dyer of the sock yarn!  As in, her mother.  The apple doesn’t fall very far from the tree!)

Whew!  I am sure that’s not all I’ve knit since I last posted knitting, but it’s what comes to mind.  Enough for one post, anyway!

6 responses to “Four Shawls and Two Socks

  1. As usual your shawl skills stun me!

  2. Gorgeous stuff! Did you get to Purl Soho while you were in NYC? or any other yarn shops?

    • I broke my personal custom of souvenir yarn! I had every intention of getting to Purl Soho, or Knitty City, or School Products, or Habu Textiles, all of which were mentioned to me (and I was within a couple blocks of one of them one day I was out walking). But between the meeting and seeing the non-knitterly sights, and hanging out with friends and husband: it didn’t happen. (Not to mention no room in my suitcase, I guess. But when has that stopped me?)

      Now that I am no longer intimidated by the Big Big City and have friends there, I will definitely go back — and check out the LYSs this time!

  3. So beautiful. I especially like your modifications for the Bermuda Scarf. I think you’ve just convinced me to buy some Twisted yarns.

  4. All your finished knitted pieces are beautiful….you are prolifically talented! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Oh my goodness! Everything is just gorgeous. =) I especially love the modified Bermuda scarf pattern! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

