Ah, June.

Where hast thou flown?

Well, half of thou hast flown on a wonderful overseas trip (a good excuse for blog absence, though I didn’t alert you — I really didn’t have internet access almost all the time we were gone, though, so couldn’t have updated while we were gone! And it was crazy busy before we left, as the girls finished all their school stuff a few days early and all the other details got taken care of, as well as Nutcracker auditions in the middle there somewhere).

Our whole family went to Germany as part of a celebration of my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary!

(Those strawberries, erdbeeren, that my sister-in-law is holding, she had just bought at the farmer’s market.  I think they were among the best that I have ever had.)

I am still going through the literally thousands of pictures (not to mention catching up at work, and with laundry, even though we got back almost two weeks ago).

But to give you a flavor, here are my two Saturday Sky pictures from the time we were in Germany:

the first Saturday in Augsburg, the oldest city we visited.

and a week later, storms brewing on our way to the edge of the Alps and Oberammergau, to see the Passion Play performed.

(The storms hit the next day with a vengeance.  I was glad I had packed two pair of shoes.)

It was a wonderful trip and I have a lot to tell you.  But….maybe by the end of the holiday weekend, I’ll have it condensed to the (very) good parts version!  Or I’ll figure out how to share in bite-size pieces.

In the meantime, I leave you with some of my souvenir yarn

and a sunset over the Elbe River that made me late for dinner.

(click for bigger even more glorious sunset)

4 responses to “Ah, June.

  1. Wonderful, family holidays are always so special and as the ‘kids’ get older harder to do.
    You have a ‘twin’ standing next to you.

  2. Can’t wait to hear more — such wonderful memory-making for your girls!

  3. Wow! What a great trip! Fabulous skies, great yarn, historic places, and oh, yeah, that family thing🙂 Looking forward to hearing more about it.

  4. Great yarn! Gorgeous sunset! I’m looking forward to seeing and reading about your trip.

Leave a Reply

