Oops, I Knit It Again

So, last October I showed you the Girasole I knit for my mother (she claims to love it!).

And a little earlier, I showed you the beginning of the in-your-face Girasole I ws knitting for myself, out of my favorite addiction, lovely Twisted yarn, in the Ember colorway.

Well, I did it.

I knit it again.

(Though a little bit differently this time, granted.  I modified the edging to one that I liked better and that matched the pattern repeat.  I’m going to meet the designer, the talented Jared Flood, at The Loopy Ewe Spring Fling.  One hopes he won’t be perturbed about the blatant modification…since I was already told I need to bring this shawl to show him.)

Helga, being cold there in the snow, graciously agreed to model once again.  Though the lovely merino-silk blend of Muse and the larger size proved harder for her to keep on her somewhat narrow bronze shoulders.

The shawl, which I have christened “Fireflower”‘,  seemed to work best for her as a half-circle shawl.

She doesn’t seem to care as much for the drama of the 3/4 fold, which makes it almost tea-length.

Though it shows off the knitting that much better.

I like them both!

Despite this shawl’s flamboyant (literally) coloration, which is not usually ‘me’, I love this shawl

and have found an amazing number of outfits to wear it with.

Given how long and how white this winter is proving to be, a vivid Fireflower is just the thing to brighten my days and warm me up!

15 responses to “Oops, I Knit It Again

  1. Those shawls are really beautiful.
    You have infinite patience with your knitting.
    Lovely – Good Work

  2. Gorgeous! And well done.

  3. Ooh! It’s gorgeous and looks wonderful on you and Helga.

  4. Gorgeous! well done! sure to chase the winter blues away!!!

  5. That turned out so lovely! Looks like you’ll be the talk of the Fling for the second year in a row due to a beautiful shawl🙂

  6. Stunningly beautiful. Love the way the color changes and your knitting is perfect!!

  7. Oh my! She’s beautiful!

  8. That’s gorgeous!!

  9. Those are both gorgeous — you are SUCH a good knitter!

  10. what beautiful work you do. your model is very lovely in the shawl.

  11. Gorgeous!

  12. Oh, my. So gorgeous! You are pushing me closer to the edge of committing tablecloth . . err . .. circular shawl.

  13. Wow! Just lovely. I often find myself timid with color and need to force myself to be bold. This looks great on you; worn either way.

  14. I’m so glad you really wear the Fireflower! Fun model, but I was happy to see it on you too.

Leave a Reply

