The Panopticon About Town

I have an incredible amount of respect for anyone who is asked to talk about ‘Knitting and Humor’ —

and is able to deliver just that!

franklin-at-the-library

Franklin Habit, the knitter and vintage pattern resurrectionist, photographerblogger, author, and ‘knitting humorist’ (as he was introduced by my knitting friend Abigail,

abigail-introducing-frankli

über-cool librarian and organizer of the event) came to the “Knit-In”

knitters-1 knitters-2

at the La Crosse Public Library last night where he, yes, knit, and also stalwartly came through with the above for nigh on an hour!  He spoke about how he came to be a knitting cartoonist (not what he put down as his career choice in 3rd grade, admittedly), and his knitting career; he related the advent of Dolores, and gave us the inestimable pleasure of hearing him read a couple of the essays sprinkled among the cartoons of his new book, “It Itches”, together with background introduction and side comments.

franklin-reading-mairwens

(That’s my friend Mairwen’s book that Franklin borrowed to read from, his own copy being at home in Chicago….)

He brought some of his knitting credentials:

magicians-shawl

and told their stories, including more about what he claims is now being called the “Angry Baby Bonnet“, if I recall correctly.

angry-baby-hat

angry-baby-and-more

There was a wide-ranging question and answer session.

front-row-knitters

Knitting, of course, happened before, during, and after.

I was so impatient to cast-on with some yarn which had been thought lost but which had just been restored to me, that I was free-skeining, leading some (including Franklin) to question my sanity ever so delicately.

free-skeining

No, Dolores was not there.  Though one of her supporters was.

vote-fibertarian

I have to tell you that my daughters might actually have come too, even though, you know, it’s with their mom and therefore innately uncool.  Because they love Franklin’s book.  I got it signed at Rhinebeck, and

Afterwards, as knitters waited to get their books signed, I was able to see those knitting friends I hadn’t seen before the talk (I got there perhaps an hour earlier; would that I could have taken the afternoon off, it was going on from noon to 8 pm!).  I knew any number of people in the audience, from different areas of my life; all knitters, but I don’t know them all from knitting (one, for example, is my daughter’s teacher: she’s actually taught one of my two daughters for the past four years continuously, poor woman, given that Montessori has mixed age classrooms!)  And two of the Gothlet’s best friends were there.  One won a door prize in absentia!  (I won a door prize in presentia!)

I didn’t get pictures of most (well, Tina‘s a front row knitter up there, but it’s not the best photo of her, so she may wish to remain anonymous!), but I did get a photo of one knitting friend who came a long way to hear Franklin.  I’m so happy he came to my town, if just so that Dale-Harriet came too!

dale-harriet-i-planned-to

(She and I called each other before we left and agreed to wear coordinating clothes and knitting.)

Not only Dale-Harriet, but the delightful Mr. Dearling, who is as sweet as D-H claims (and is a much better photographer than my husband: he took the above picture).

d-h-mr-d

It was great to see them; and I had a chance to go out for dinner with knitters afterwards too, some of whom were friends or acquaintances, and some of whom were new knitting acquaintances.  Very much fun.  Almost too much fun for one evening.

But not really.  With knitting, I don’t think there’s really such a thing as  ‘too much fun’!

Is there?


9 responses to “The Panopticon About Town

  1. How fun!! I hope that yarn didn’t end up in a tangle – you’re a brave woman!

  2. Great photos – isn’t Franklin great😉 Nice Feb. Lady in that front row shot too …

  3. Great pictures!!!!! Looks like a fun event.

  4. I was wondering if you had time in your “frantically rushing about before leaving” schedule to fit this in — sounds like it was a blast!

    Astrid

  5. Sounds like a great time! Free skeining??? Never heard of it, but I know what you’re up to there… it didn’t tangle? Yikes! You and DH didn’t really call each other about color coordination, did you? The angry baby face was one of my favorite things about the recent knitty… I didn’t realize at first it was by Franklin.

  6. Oh, I adore Franklin. How fun! I just read his angry baby story and it cracks me up reading about people’s reactions.

  7. I hadn’t noticed but YES, we really DID coordinate! Hearing Franklin was such a treat, but I’d have to say that seeing you was an enhancement to the evening. Certainly is a nice way to spend time. (One day I mean to come to LaCrosse to visit YOUR LYS and see Hixon House again and maybe have lunch and knit down by the river. Lovely place, LaCrosse!

  8. ::green with jealousy:: Glad you hear y’all had a great time, although there was never any doubt about it.

  9. Free-skeining! I’ve not heard it called that, but it would be sheer (shear!) lunacy for me to knit with unwound yarn. I can barely keep it untangled in a cake.

Leave a Reply

