I Haz a Proud (or two)

Sorry for the Lolspeak; it just seemed to fit.

I’ve been working on a Madrona post, which just keeps getting longer, the more I write.  (Funny how that works.)  But part I is almost set.  In the meantime, though, I had to share a little maternal pride from this past Friday.

First, the RockStar had her Wisconsin State Music Association’s Solo and Ensemble regional ‘festival’.  Vocal and instrumental musicians participate to undergo ratings and constructive criticism by judges.  If your piece is in the most difficult category, and you perform outstandingly, you go on to the State competition/festival.

The RockStar and her friend sang a duet beautifully, though both had colds, and received a 1 rating – the highest possible for their class B piece.  Here they are, not being nearly serious enough while awaiting their turn, with their accompanist.

silly-duet-singers

They really blended well, listened to each other, had stellar tempo and key changes; it was beautiful (and a moving piece: “Inscription of Hope” — YouTube link, the best one I could find; there were a number of YouTube renditions that weren’t as well done as my girls’ above).  I heard the same piece done twice more that day not as well, so appreciated them even more.

Then, later, the RockStar sang her solo, which was in Italian, “Se tu m’ami” (another YouTube link).

A little more serious now, but not much (just waiting).

not-so-silly-soloist

She got a number of excellent critiques from the judge, but left, I think, feeling sure she hadn’t gotten a ‘starred first’, the prerequisite to go to State; as she had had all sorts of glowing positive feedback on the duet, which was considerably easier, and she mostly heard about things she could improve upon after her solo.

I pointed out to her that she had indeed done very well (though hearing this loud child of mine being advised to sing out was rather amusing: but her cold had left her somewhat breathy, and the piano was in front of her and playing loudly).  And I reminded her that, if she had done well enough, she would need to sing the song again at State, and she had been given a number of excellent recommendations to improve her performance.  (I found out later who her judge was, and was even more impressed; believe me, he has the credibility.)

Anyway, after waiting and waiting, her score was posted: indeed, a starred first, and on she goes to sing at State.  It was only the second vocal starred first in the first several hours of the festival.  She’s worked hard at this solo and it showed: her Italian sounded fluent and smooth, and her intonation and dynamics were great.  And this is a girl who has only had a handful of vocal lessons from a college student who has since graduated. (I’m going to miss her state performance!  I will be on a school trip to Washington DC with the Gothlet.  Darn.  At least I heard her sing this time.)

So that is Proud Moment number One.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday night then, the Gothlet had her kid birthday party:  a roller skating party,

gothlet-skating-party

(That’s her in the orange shirt: she has her own sense of style, which is very definite.  No Hollister shirts here, believe me.)

then her first sleepover (which resulted in me going to work on a snowy Saturday with less than 5 hours of sleep due to several crises of various sorts; but that’s all we’ll say about that).  But here’s the Gothlet proud moment:

She’s not a particularly strong skater (I did see this more than once)

wall-hug

but as I kept an eye on her and her friends, I saw her in the middle of the rink, comforting a little girl who was sitting down, crying.  As I watched, she helped the little girl to her feet, then slowly skated with her, guarding her from faster skaters, off the rink over to where her parents were.  (Apparently she’d fallen and hurt her wrist, and her parents hadn’t seen yet, because the protective wall makes it hard to see someone on the ground unless you’re close.)

I was so proud of her.  No one else had helped the little girl yet, and my Gothlet took the initiative, and not as someone who was the absolute most secure skater out there, but she felt she could help, and she did.

That’s my girl.  Proud Moment Number Two.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So, two different parental proud moments.  One is truly because of a remarkable God-given talent and its use, though granted, hard work did go into the performance.  The second, because of an action, a real-life living out of a principle, of quiet compassion and aid to one in need of help, without fanfare.

I’m very proud of both my Friday girls.  But I’ll leave you to deduce which proud moment left the warmest afterglow inside.

6 responses to “I Haz a Proud (or two)

  1. You are one lucky mama!

  2. You are a great mom. And it shows in your kid.

  3. Lovely entry. So nicely written.

  4. What a lovely post. Cheers to your wonderful daughters!

Leave a Reply

