Rain and Random

Rain and 51 degrees, as we had today, is just not quite what we expect in February up here.  Thaw, perhaps.  All-day rain, not usually.  (I worked from dawn till dusk, so no pictures, but I expect you can imagine gray and rainy on top of dirty gray snow and ice.  Not much in the colorful department.)

Though it was raining and about this temperature the day that the Gothlet was born, almost 11 years ago: I remember going for a walk in early labor, trying to get the irregular contractions a little closer together, and stepping over puddles in the neighborhood.

Yes, the Gothlet’s going to be ELEVEN in a week, and she has definitely transformed into a Pretëën (trying to subvert some weird searches there, or channeling the Swedish chef, not sure which).  Mostly in the Attitude department.  She’s always had a certain sardonic wit.  Even back when her father would tell her as a toddler/preschooler, “Cute don’t cut it”, to remind her that batting her eyes would get her nowhere, she would fire back “Cute DO cut it!” because, of course, a winning smile and long eyelashes can get you a certain amount in life, whether justly or not.  Not perhaps with her parents, who were immune, but in other situations….

That sardonic wit has now transformed into full-out sarcasm.  Which can be funny when the sarcasm is not 24/7, and not directed at what’s for dinner, or why practicing piano is or is not necessary, or my explanation as to why the gym teacher has to be tolerated though not loved.

battle-of-the-books-champee

Here she is, being forced to pose for a picture after she and her team won the city “Battle of the Books” championship last Friday (on to the state competition in a couple weeks, which they won last year).  Doesn’t the ‘Oh, Mom!’ come right through the screen despite the coaxed smile?  (Third picture attempt to get the smile, I said something tangential, probably something sarcastic.  Wonder where she gets it from?) (From her father, actually!)

There is a certain detachment, though, and sense of humor, that make me think the Gothlet could be an author.  Or an artist (she has leanings that way).  She sees the world from a slightly different perspective than most.

So, in honor of the Gothlet’s approaching 1-1, I will share a Goth-quote with you each post till the natal day.

Today’s is more about the recent point of view and sardonicity (yes,  I know that’s not a real word): the Gothlet told me yesterday that she informed her 11-year-old friend, who is fond of wearing H*llister and Aerop*stale T-shirts, that:

“You know, A_y, when you wear that, you’re just a corporate billboard.”

Yikes!

Is this how Michael Moore started?

The other Goth-quotes are a little farther back in time, in the innocent days of ten-and-a-half, and not quite so pointed, therefore….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And now for something completely different, or perhaps just back to the beginning of the post.

In two days, I’m going where the weather we’ve just had is unremarkable for February.  Yes, I’m leavin’ on a jet plane and heading to the Pacific Northwest in the first of several knitterly jaunts this late winter/spring.  (Enough jaunts that I feel guilty.  Really.)

A friend that I met at BMFA Sock Camp last year, KT, talked me into coming to Madrona (Madrona Fiber Arts Winter Retreat, to give it its full name) this year.  (It was really hard to talk me into it.)  (NOT!) There was a lottery for several popular classes, including classes by Nancy Bush, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, and others.  I decided that if I got a lottery class, I would go (I had frequent flyer miles, and could take the time off work).  Indeed, I got into Nancy Bush’s “Overture to Estonian Lace” and signed up for a class taught by Elsebeth Lavold: “Viking Knits: Mitered Cables” (it’s about designing with cables and making them go around corners and such) also.  And I got on the waiting list for a class by Sally Melville about making your sweaters fit (just got into it a few days ago).

And then I find out that my internet Doppelganger twin Laurie is going to be there, and so is my other Sock Camp friend and kindred spirit Sam, and Tammy, and others that I met at Sock Camp, and WOW!  Not only am I going to be learning, really learning advanced techniques from knitting book authors, but I’m going to see friends again, and one friend I haven’t met yet (in the memorable words of the RockStar at age 4), AND rumor has it there will be more cool yarn there than one could possibly shake a stick at even if one wanted to do such a foolish thing.  NOT that I need more yarn, but still…..

Lots to do, to be able to leave pre-dawn in two days!

Which is probably why my dryer broke Sunday night….Life needed to be more interesting.

7 responses to “Rain and Random

  1. Have a great time! Happy b’day, Gothlet! (My washer is acting weird. Argh.)

  2. Hmmm, seems like an excuse to go buy some more clothes, eh? What fun! The gothlet is much like my 13 year old… who has had that sarcastic wit since he could talk. And tinged with teen attitude since he was 8. Good thing I love him.

  3. Hey, how long are you going to be around? I’m not going to Madrona, but I will be around next week. If you’re still there and up for a post-Madrona coffee date I’d love to see you and the other sock campers.😀

  4. I’m counting the days until we’re (re)united, twin! And although we were graced with your snow earlier today, it’s back to cold, grey, and drippy now. See you soon!

  5. Hmm, you got our rain, and we got your snow today!! Not fun driving up to T’s in the snow. 😉 We are praying for no snow the rest of this week as we head up to Tacoma tomorrow!

  6. Can’t wait to hear about your Madrona experience @ Sock Camp. Are you planning to go to Sock Summit in the fall?

  7. I took an Estonian lace with Nancy Bush last year at Stitches Midwest. She had us spend the day making a mini shawl in order to learn all the techniques that make up the full-size shawls.
    Good choice! You’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

