Shetland Seas Shawl Unveiled

When we left our shawl-in-blocking yesterday, it was  in use by a certain feline:

do-you-think-this-matches-m

“Do you think this shawl matches my eyes?”

She consented to assist with close-up photography, sitting on my shoulder to get a good view of the shots I was framing.

Macro shots of the beaded points.

shetland-seas-bead-closeup

Artsy shots of the color changes fading in the distance.

shetland-seas-color-change

Stitch pattern details.

shetland-seas-blocked-stitc

The obligatory blocking shot.

shetland-seas-shawl-blockin

(The obligatory preblocking shot just didn’t turn out well, given poor lighting.)

Out to the porch for a few more photos.  Here’s the center of the shawl, artsy again.

shetland-seas-on-the-porch

The whole shawl, hanging out.

shetland-seas-on-wall

And, since Beya couldn’t operate the camera and my RockStar model is away for the weekend, this is the best I could do for a modeled shot.  I’ll see if I can get a RockStar or Gothlet pic, or get someone else to take a photo soon so you can see a shawl rather than a headscarf.

shetland-shawl-headwrap

Don’t I look pleased with myself, though?

Well, a little smugness can surely be excused in a good cause, right?

Because I truly am delighted with my Shetland Seas Shawl!

I do have some notes about its making, which are here on Ravelry, and which I can put up in a future blog post if desired.  But right now, I just want to continue to bask in its lovely blue-green shading.  Happy sigh.


18 responses to “Shetland Seas Shawl Unveiled

  1. Stunning. Just beautiful.

    I see on your Rav notes that you used 1.4 balls of yarn. How did you handle the color changes?

    Astrid

  2. Beautiful! Well done!

  3. Astrid, to answer your question, the skein count is a little deceptive; when Meg dyes the Evolution slow-color-change skeins, she dyes the yarn in 70g skeins instead of 100g after some experimentation (I think because this amount was about hat size); so this was a double size (140g, 560 yard) skein dyed continuously in one at my request. But Ravelry has a skein as being 100g, hence the funny skein amount. So there was no problem with color changes, and by weighing the yarn as I went and keeping track of my usage, I was able to use pretty much all of it so as not to waste any of the beautiful color changing.

    There were two knots in the skein, one at the halfway point as expected where the two 70g skeins were tied together, and one other one, which was fine; where these occurred, I did a Russian join,
    http://boiknittech.blogspot.com/2006/05/russian-join.html
    which is what I like to do for lace to avoid weaving in yarn ends.

  4. …that is positively gorgeous! girl, you rocked it out!!!

  5. What a lovely, lovely shawl. Well done!

  6. And well you sould be! (pleased with yourself) That’s incredible… love the way the yarn shaded into the different colors!

  7. What marvelous colors. Your notes tell me you put a lot of thought into this. I’d like to know more about how you estimated yarn usage when knitting lace, particularly a triangular shawl.

  8. It is just gorgeous. Love it!

  9. Beautiful! I miss knitting lace! It’s gorgeous – congratulations!

  10. Beautiful! And yes, Beya, it does match your eyes.

  11. Carol Cousins-Tyler

    Freaking Awesome!! I want one of my own, please!? Looking for the pattern, soonest! Carol

  12. martha in mobile

    Amazing!

  13. So beautiful and well named, too!!

  14. Absolutely gorgeous. The Shetland Triangle is my favorite triangular shawl pattern because of the way the motifs flow into each other, as is so visible in your third and fourth photos. Well done, you!

  15. Congratulations, Cathy-Cate!

  16. Pingback: Wool and Spice » Blog Archive » Trash, more trash and really trashy

Leave a Reply

