Daily Archives: February 8, 2009

Shetland Seas Shawl Unveiled

When we left our shawl-in-blocking yesterday, it was  in use by a certain feline:

do-you-think-this-matches-m

“Do you think this shawl matches my eyes?”

She consented to assist with close-up photography, sitting on my shoulder to get a good view of the shots I was framing.

Macro shots of the beaded points.

shetland-seas-bead-closeup

Artsy shots of the color changes fading in the distance.

shetland-seas-color-change

Stitch pattern details.

shetland-seas-blocked-stitc

The obligatory blocking shot.

shetland-seas-shawl-blockin

(The obligatory preblocking shot just didn’t turn out well, given poor lighting.)

Out to the porch for a few more photos.  Here’s the center of the shawl, artsy again.

shetland-seas-on-the-porch

The whole shawl, hanging out.

shetland-seas-on-wall

And, since Beya couldn’t operate the camera and my RockStar model is away for the weekend, this is the best I could do for a modeled shot.  I’ll see if I can get a RockStar or Gothlet pic, or get someone else to take a photo soon so you can see a shawl rather than a headscarf.

shetland-shawl-headwrap

Don’t I look pleased with myself, though?

Well, a little smugness can surely be excused in a good cause, right?

Because I truly am delighted with my Shetland Seas Shawl!

I do have some notes about its making, which are here on Ravelry, and which I can put up in a future blog post if desired.  But right now, I just want to continue to bask in its lovely blue-green shading.  Happy sigh.


