Knitters’ Eye Candy Friday

And Eye Candy for Crocheters and Dyers and all Fiberistas!

The Shetland Seas Shawl is mid-castoff and should be done and blocking tonight.  So in the meantime, until I can show you finished pictures:

Take a look at this! (and it IS easy on the eyes, methinks)

hither-and-yarn-yarn

What is this lovely jewel rainbow yarn, out sunbathing in the balmy January sun?

Well, take a look at THIS to find out more.

hither-and-yarn-ball-band

(Click to embiggen if you need to.)

Yes, it’s true.  I don’t know whether to be embarrassed or pleased, but I have, um, achieved a place as one of the “Loopy Legends II”.

What’s a Loopy Legend, you ask?

In the words of Sheri, who IS The Loopy Ewe, a Loopy Legend is one of The Loopy Ewe’s top customers.  As you may know, TLE is a truly awesome online yarn store, specializing in incredible sock yarns, especially indie dyers, but also carrying some lace weight yarn, some worsted (including every Cascade 220 color), some roving, and some cool accessories.

As you can tell, I DO think TLE is a fantastic place.  Not purely because of the yarn (though the yarn is amazing, and prices are competitive, along with superfast and careful packing and shipping, free (priority mail) shipping over a certain dollar amount, and store credits you can amass over time).  But the overall customer service is absolutely unparalleled, I think.  Sheri is so genuine and honest and personable, and that shines through in every aspect of her business.

If you are not already familiar with The Loopy Ewe, I would strongly encourage you to check them out. And I’m not saying this because TLE dyed a colorway of yarn for me!  I’m saying this because TLE is such an awesome place that I shop there all the time, which is why (rumor has it), they dyed a colorway of yarn just for me!  (Well, anyone can buy it; but it’s named after me!  And dyed in my favorite colors!)

🙂

By the way, the incredible dyeing creation is the work of Angelina of Zen String, custom for The Loopy Ewe.  I was asked for a few of my favorite colors, that she could select from in designing a colorway, and gave my usual answer: jewel tones.

Jewel tones indeed: I think they’re all there.  Sapphire, emerald, topaz, garnet (I prefer garnets to rubies), amethyst — maybe spinel at the end?  A semi-precious rainbow, and just amazingly my colors.

I was sent my own personal skein.  (Isn’t it wrapped up purty?)

hither-and-yarn-package

When they went on sale several weeks ago, though, I purchased two more: one to knit (because I don’t want to knit this first one, I just want to keep looking at it!) and one for a future surprise.  Something to do with a blogiversary  later this spring….

Unfortunately, you won’t be able to buy it quite yet if you love it as much as I do.  This colorway sold out in less than a day.  (I promise, it wasn’t all me buying it up, there was some left when I was done.)  But I’m sure there will be more at some point! 

And if you like indie dyers, such as bellamoden, Sanguine Gryphon, Numma Numma, Tempted, Perfect Day Yarns, Perchance to Knit, YoYo, Enchanted Knoll Yarn, Yarn Pirate, or many more  — TLE is your Indie Headquarters. Go!  See!  

Besides, any yarn from the TLE comes with a Loopy Treat! Kisses this time of year, see them in the picture?  Peppermints in the warm weather when the kisses might melt.  SWEET!

One last look at the Hither and Yarn yarn; Beya the cat had just checked it out.  She approves.  Though the color shows up better outdoors (the first photo is completely unaltered as far as colors); the flash makes this look a little brighter than it is; it’s saturated but not bright-bright IRL.

hither-and-yarn-yarn-with-b

OK, I admit it, she’s more interested in the tissue paper!  At least until I start knitting with the yarn, then I’ll have her full attention.  Unfortunately, not because of the gorgeous colors, though.   Sigh.

13 responses to “Knitters’ Eye Candy Friday

  1. How cool and pretty!

  2. SCORE! That is in the super cool!

  3. I swear to become a Loopy Ewe shopper, promise. Can I have the yarn?😉

    Nah, I wouldn’t really try to beg that away from you — you earned it and you deserve it. It is really, really gorgeous. But I WILL shop TLE from now on. After having read references to it for years at Wendy’s and other blogs, I don’t know why I haven’t shopped that site before. Thanks for educating me!

  4. From one Loopy Groupie to another – great post about Sheri and TLE! I was able to score a skein of Loopy Legends a few weeks ago, but Beth’s Love for Caspar spoke to me the loudest. I didn’t put 2+2 together until I saw this post. Love your colors also!

  5. Gorgeous! It’s a good thing they’re out, I probably don’t need more yarn (not that this would have stopped me!).

  6. OH that’s just beautiful! I’ll have to visit the site and start watching for a restock of that color.

  7. That is a wonderful colorway! I’ve only ordered from TLE once, but the experience was so good I’ll be sure to do it again.

  8. That is just beautiful yarn. I am off to trawl through the TLE website….thanks for the tip.

  9. How could I have missed that? I must be slipping. Congrats on Loopy Legend status – that is quite an accomplishment and the colors are gorgeous. TLE and Zen String are two of my favorite places to shop….There’s a Loopy Legend colorway called Laurie’s Carolina Morning that I had to buy even though, alas (or thank heavens!) it’s not named after me.

  10. That is so GEORGEOUS!!!!! (I like garnet better than ruby too). Socks? Mitts? Plans?

  11. Oh, wow, that’s such a wonderful colorway, and how awesome for it to be named for you! Good thing they’re sold out, else I’d be tempted to break my “no new yarn” rule.

  12. Damn it – why didn’t you tell us about this 2 weeks ago? I freaking love that colorway!

  13. Your yarn is beautiful–I love it! I like to shop at TLE and agree that Sheri and her team do a wonderful job.

Leave a Reply

