Non-Secret Knitting

During all the recent extracurricular activities, knitting has been happening.

But of course!  That goes without saying.

Some of it is stealth, but some I can show you.

First, here’s the corollary to the Gothlet’s Noro Striped Scarf, which (if you recall) looked like this:

piano-playing-scarf

It was knit to the Gothlet’s exact specifications as far as length (otherwise, I would have knit to the end of the skeins — two of each color).  Thus,  I had a little yarn left over.

I decided to make a hat.  The remainders looked to be about the right yardage for a hat. The Gothlet declined, but I was happy to have a Noro Silk Garden hat, so it was to be for me.   It knit up fast, and I love it!

noro-striped-hat

Here it is in last Saturday’s snow; the flash making it look a bit brighter than it is, perhaps.

noro-striped-hat-looks-at-s

The hat and I look at the Saturday Sky with Snow.

Front view:

noro-striped-hat-overall

Here’s the recipe if anyone wants to duplicate it:

I cast on 100 stitches stretchily (I have a big head; if you’re knitting for someone less big-headed, choose a smaller multiple of 4) and knit in K1 P1 rib in rounds, alternating colors every two rounds.  I didn’t worry about doing  ‘jogless joins’ since the ribbing tended to disguise the join, but I found the join was less obvious if I joined the new color on a purl stitch rather than a knit stitch. (I did break the yarn and split splice once to avoid two similar greens coming together (just started from the other end of the remaining yarn).)

When the work was just over six inches long, I decreased something like what follows, continuing to change colors every two rounds (I changed color one round and did decreases the next round for simplicity, though this isn’t critical)

*k1 p1 k2 tog* around for 1 round  (75 stitches)

k1 *p1 k2* around (repeat between asterisks to end of round, end k1)  for about 3 rounds

*k2 tog k1* around for 1 round (50 stitches)

k all stitches for about 3 rounds

*k2 tog* around for 1 round (25 stitches)

k 1 round, ending k2 tog (24 stitches)

*k2 tog* around  for 1 round (12 stitches)

Place the 12 stitches on two needles, six stitches to a needle, so as to be able to graft them together, then use the Kitchener stitch to do so, and weave in ends.

This is a slight modification of the cool trick outlined in this tutorial from the Techknitter.  (Modified because the hat she’s using for an example is k2 p2 rib — my usual fave — so the decreases don’t apply.)  It makes a truly flat and not pointy hat top.  Here’s a close-up:

noro-hat-top

If you look back at the first picture:  Look, Ma!  No point!  Even if a smaller-headed person wears the hat.

I ran out of yarn in one colorway (not the other) part way into the decreases, so borrowed some yards from a third colorway.  The teal green is the interloper.

I am verra, verra happy with my Noro Striped Hat.  And it’s surprisingly warm but breathable  (the silk content helps, I’m sure).  YAY for new hats!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Non-stealth project number two:

We have a Secret Santa exchange at work:  tiny gifts for several weeks, then a somewhat bigger gift the day of our intra-departmental informal Christmas party at work.  (We have a dinner/dancing holiday party in January.)  I happened to draw the name of a friend of mine; so I put a little more into her gift, I admit.

She’s a purple fan.  She’s also a beginning knitter, and appreciates handknits.

So I made her this:

dayflower-detail

A scarf using one repeat of the “Dayflower” pattern from Barbara Walker’s Second Treasury of Stitch Patterns.  I put a three-garter-stitch edging on each side, six garter stitch rows at top and bottom, and knit till I ran out of time, basically (the story of my life).  I could have put in a couple more repeats, but it turned out long enough.

dayflower-long-view

It’s Dream in Color Classy knit together with Rowan Kidsilk Haze for a bit of extra fluffy.  Classy is soft but smooth, being a superwash merino.  In cold Wisconsin winters, I thought fuzzy softness would be nice, and the KSH would also add another textural and color dimension, and not obscure the lace pattern as much as an overtly fluffier single yarn would.

I’m happy with how it turned out, though unfortunately I did not have my camera at the party to take modeled shots.

dayflower-midportion

If  I can get my friend to pose, I’ll post one later.

It’s about 5 1/2 inches wide, just under 5 feet long.  Nice chunky lace.  My left thumb weighed in about its personal feelings re: p2 tog tbl (it’s anti this stitch maneuver).  However, the stitch occurred only once every 16 rows, so my thumb had to just suck it up and deal with it.

Now back to cleaning and a touch more Stealth Knitting!  From inside, though I have to run errands once (and sing at church tonight).  It looks like last Saturday’s Sky again, but snowing harder.

saturday-sky-december-20-20

I believe this snowfall is getting us to the second snowiest December on record for our area (last December was the 5th snowiest).

5 responses to “Non-Secret Knitting

  1. That is a way cool hat — I may need to check out eBay for some more Silk Garden. I too have a big head, so your pattern is perfect for me.

    Is it weird that I love it when people post long vertical photos of linear objects? It is so much fun to scroll down and watch the optical illusion of the object getting wider.

  2. Very cool hat. I’m still resisting the pull to knit that scarf, but I’m not sure how much longer I can hold out. I think I have silk garden in two colorways in my stash….
    Your Secret Santa project is awesome! Great color!

  3. I spent so much time going up and down in my browser to see that scarf! It was kinda cool… like one of those flip books… so I was looking at your pics and not reading and I thought “that looks like the dayflower pattern”… so I read, and it is! It’s hard to believe your older girl is 13… she looks like she’s 16! I loved the gothlet’s original footwear… I am a big fan of skirts with boots.

  4. lovely hat! now i wish had a bit more of that noro that i used for my scarf!

  5. I LOVE the combo of Smooshy and KSH. That would definitely be welcome during the Wisconsin winter!

    -SquidWidget

Leave a Reply

