Color Me Gobsmacked!

Surprised, delighted, blown away!

When I returned from camp (that place of which you’ll see the evidence ONE of these days), there was an unexpected package waiting for me.  Remember the Forest Canopy shawl which suddenly discovered its destiny?

It went off as an ‘angel’ gift to Gigi,  a talented crocheter whose International Scarf Exchange 6 package seems to have gotten lost in customs.  She likes blues and jewel colors, and crochets gorgeous lace shawls, but in her questionnaire hinted that she’d love a knitted shawl if her spoiler were so inclined.  So she is now the professedly happy owner of Forest Canopy.

Completely out of the blue (har!), because it was NOT at all required, Gigi made me a crocheted lace shawl for my very own!  Look at this gorgeous work of art!

And a hopefully not too blurry closeup (I was taking pictures with the timer, and the camera was being refractory; it prefers hands on, evidently).

What both Gigi and I found both amusing and apropos is that the yarn she picked, gorgeous, soft Dream in Color Smooshy yarn in the Night Watch colorway, looks almost like the end result of the Socks That Rock yarn that I overdyed!

She also tucked in the pattern for the Amanda Hat, a great pattern (pdf link) by Gina House, sleepy eyes knitting, a friend of hers.  I had recently run into this pattern on Ravelry and loved it. But even better, she sent along — wait for it — enough mmmMalabrigo worsted to knit the Amanda hat, in our favorite colors!  (I couldn’t get a decent picture of it, but it’s scrumptious, and Gigi knew I’d love it.)  And some handmade fragrant soap, and some chocolate-covered sunflower seeds which my family didn’t let sit around too long.

What a treat!  And no one has ever made *me* a lace shawl before, and I am so surprised and delighted. (Delightedly surprised?  Surprisedly delighted?)  I wore it last week for A/C coverage, and it was perfect and elegant.

Thank you , Gigi!  You didn’t have to, but I’m so glad you did!

5 responses to “Color Me Gobsmacked!

  1. You are so very welcome! I love the shawl you made me and couldn’t help but reciprocate in hopes you would be as delighted as I. =-) Enjoy!

  2. The shawl is beautiful!

  3. It’s beautiful! Bonus!

  4. Wow, you are SO lucky!

  5. Pingback: And Amanda’s Another…. « Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

