The Thrill of Victory, Etcetera, Etcetera

And the 2008 Summer Olympics, and thus Ravelympics, conclude!

alt text

I have a confession to make, first.  I am an Olympics junkie.  Hence the blog silence (as well as the vacation/post-vacation work overload trifecta). 

I watch very little television, nor many current movies if it comes to that.  I (gasp) have never seen American Idol, nor Survivor, nor The Sopranos, nor Lost.  Probably haven’t seen a lot of other shows I don’t even know about.  (Yep, nothing to talk about at the proverbial water cooler.) 

But put the Olympics on, and I’m glued to the set!  My children & husband are starting to resign themselves to the fact that for two weeks every two years, they have to yield the TV to me.  Given that I let them watch pretty much whatever they want the other 102 weeks, I think it’s reasonable.  Too bad vacation and work got in the way this time for half of the Olympics.  Ah, well.

Even while at camp, I could participate in the Ravelympics at least (and of course, we had camp Olympics events of various sorts, too.)

So here are my personal Ravelympics results!

First, my Country Manor scarf.  The name is a play on words; this yarn was handspun from Twisted Fiber Art’s Festive Roving in the Netherfield colorway (a Jane Austen reference), and the spinner, Kirky (a fellow Twisted aficionado), named the yarn Country Manners (see her etsy shop here).  So I twisted the name a little. 

This scarf was inspired by Barbara Walker’s Seafoam stitch, which I made a shawl from in the past, and by the Morning Surf scarf, recently featured in Spin Out magazine.  Though I have the Morning Surf pattern, I had only glanced at it in passing (and didn’t care for the modification to stockinette between the drop-stitch rows when I had seen it in the magazine, because I like reversibility in a scarf), so I started totally from scratch in designing my own.  I also wanted the ends of the rows to be closed, especially in this chunkier yarn where there were fewer stitches, to give the scarf structure.  Lastly, I saw a reference somewhere on Ravelry to modifying the Seafoam stitch by using fewer wraps and thought I’d try it (it takes severe blocking to block the extra wrappage out, plus I wanted the handspun to go further).  Hey, I like it!  I may rewrite my Seafoam stitch shawl (Coulee Shawl in my Ravelry projects) with this in mind and try knitting it again, then publishing the pattern.

(Unblocked above, on our cabin clothesline, a little wonky.)  Because I was making a scarf; designing the scarf pattern, small though it is; and working with handspun; the scarf was eligible for more than one medal.  I proudly received these on the Ravelympics Podium:

alt text

alt text

alt text

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The other two projects entered in the Ravelympics were WIPs.  Nay, not just WIPs, but UFOs.  My father’s Oktoberfest socks were my main priority, and they accompanied me to camp many places.  The yarn was untangled and rewound, the modified pattern stitch recalled, steady progress was made, and the second sock was finished back at home, actually around one of Michael Phelps’ last races.  It was rather amusing, because it seemed like every third commercial was a beer commercial, and here I had my beer sock in my lap.

I’m not going to show it to you, because it’s slated for the upcoming late September birthday (never mind that it was due last birthday; I still want to present it ceremoniously!) and I don’t want to spoil the presentational effect.  But if you’re on Ravelry, here it is.

I thus was awarded a medal in WIP Wrestling!

alt text

(If these had been new socks, the medal would have been in the Sockput, ha!)

However, I’m sorry to say that my third entrant did not cross the finish line.  I knew there was a good chance that this athlete might scratch.  She requires a lot of apparatus and a lot of training time. 

Swan Lake (symmetric variation) was up to here

(row 190 of 334 of this half) at the official end of Ravelympics.  (As you remember,

 this is what it will look like, though I knit a little further on this half too after the photo; this isn’t quite to row 334 yet….)

I am motivated to keep going and finish this!  Therefore, I knit some more yesterday until the televised closing ceremonies, by which time I had fnished the inverted “V” and am on the plain (as plain as it gets) section, with “Cat’s Paw” motifs in the center, and split “Wings of the Swan” motifs on the edges.  It goes a little faster from here.  Then, for the symmetrical variation (for us part-German types who just won’t wear a one-wing shawl), you join the two halves with a perpendicularly knit section.  Cool!

And the flame is extinguished….

6 responses to “The Thrill of Victory, Etcetera, Etcetera

  1. That seafoam stitch scarf is awesome! I made a scarf a couple years ago in KSH using seafoam stitch, but I like yours better.

  2. Wow – impressive showing. You’re making me tired, and I haven’t even finished my coffee yet!

  3. Beautiful scarf! I may need to make one of my own🙂

    My poor MS3 – a whole 20 rows is all I ever got done.

  4. Pretty scarf! Looks like a gold medal winner to me!

  5. Yeah, the idea of a one-winged shawl was rather disturbing. I saw some of these during the mystery thing and wondered what folks would think if they were invested in it and didn’t like it. Congrats on your ravelympics ‘medals’!!

  6. I LOVE that Country Manor scarf! Absolutely fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

