O is for Camp Olson

Very timely that O came up right now in the ABC-Along schedule.

Camp Olson is the YMCA camp in Northern Minnesota which I went to every year I could as a camper, and where I also was a CIT (Counselor-in-Training). Now my kids are old enough to be campers, and we have gone to Family Camp for the last several years as well, which has been awesome. It’s a special place for us — beautiful, with its thousands of acres enclosing near-wilderness, and with people who make being at camp the unforgettable experience that it always is. It’s named Olson after the farmer who donated thousands of acres of land to make a camp in the early 1950s, so that kids could experience Northern Minnesota outdoors.

It’s hard to pick out one picture of Camp Olson to show you. It takes a gallery. So I cheated again and made a collage, because camp is truly greater than the sum of its parts.

(If you have high-speed internet, here’s the collage bigger amd much more clear. I’m the photographer for all but one picture, but you can find me tucked away in one of them!) This shows most of our favorite activities, except I seem to have neglected photos of the rifle range (I always have to go test my skills and get my bullseye) and archery, as well as the swimming beach & sauna….

Why do I mention that O is so timely?

The daughters just went off to regular “camper camp” at Camp Olson yesterday. (Actually starts tomorrow, but the Preteen’s friend’s mother drove them to the Twin Cities yesterday to shorten the bus ride and have city fun before camp fun.)

And we go to Family Camp the following week!

I am so looking forward to this, our family vacation. It’s the fourth year we’ve gone together. My husband was extremely dubious to begin with, but is now a convert, due to the indescribable and wonderful nature of the place and the people. It’s a week out of time for us, and we all have a wonderful time. We’ll miss my parents this year, however, who have gone with us in prior years; my mother’s foot is acting up (still or again), and walking is unavoidable at camp, where both meals and the bathroom are a short walk away.

If you’d like to see more (for the hard core), the below links are posts & pictures from last year. Or just click on those that interest you.

Eye Candy Friday Courtesy of Camp

Fauna of Camp

What We Did At Camp

Eye Candy Friday (from Camp again)

Flora of Camp

Final Glimpses of Camp

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just after the amazing fun and friendship and family time of Camp Olson ended last year, we were all brought up terribly short. Please, because I need to remind myself of what I wrote in this post every so often, and I want to tell you again, too — even if you were a reader last year — please click on this last link and read the short post.

In the Midst of Life

Puts a different perspective on the fact that The Preteen went out the door on the heels of a fight about whether she was going to take her hair straightener and her iPod (guess the outcome of those discussions).

I hope you all have the chance to experience your own version of Camp Olson at some point. (Or if you’re looking for a great kid or family camp in the Midwest, follow that link above! No need to be a Y member!)

O is for Camp Olson.

4 responses to “O is for Camp Olson

  1. Your family has built memories that your girls will treasure forever.

  2. I never went to summer camp. My whole childhood was kind of a summer camp; living up in Northern Maine. But I’ve always regretted not being able to be a counselor. That always sounded like so much fun! Have fun at Family Camp!

  3. Oh, it sounds wonderful! My husband and kids aren’t so much into the camping thing, and though we did some when the kids were younger, it hasn’t happened in some years and no one misses it but me . . . sniff!

  4. Pingback: Vacation, all I ever wanted « Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

