Thank you, Volunteers! and Free Patterns Beat Bob

Thanks to everyone who volunteered to knit a nice warm cozy wooly hat! In August! Now that’s knitterly friendship — and I appreciate it.

Everyone who’s already said yes, in a comment or email, I can definitely use your help, and you’ll be hearing from me very soon (just wanted to post and say thank you quickly!). Yee-haw!

(One of these may be coming your way if you’re a test knitter!)

I wanted to mention a couple bloggy things — and then I’ll stop blog-navel-gazing. Just as I posted my ‘spam’ post, the number of spam blocked became equal to comments, and then passed them. I sighed and accepted it; that’s the norm; you know, like you may well get more junk mail than quality mail?

But somehow, comments pulled back ahead in a few days and are still beating spam! Much better reading! And you guys knit hats! (If the spammers do, they’re not sayin’. Or offering, either.)

The other interesting bloggish note: I had told you all before about the Power of Bob. But I speculated that if, for example, there was ever a link from the Yarn Harlot’s blog here, that Stephanie would trump Bob. Well, I’m here to tell you that, at least, Knitting Pattern Central is a force to be reckoned with. I had emailed the organizer of this wonderful compendium (who herself is primarily a crocheter, this is all out of the goodness of her heart, who knew?) to give her permission to link my Piano Mitts and Mini-Mitts, and Grow With Me Baby Hat patterns. When they were posted — whoa, Nelly! Let’s just say: Knitters Rule!

3 responses to “Thank you, Volunteers! and Free Patterns Beat Bob

  1. Once, long ago in 2006, when my blog was, like, 2 weeks old, I went to see La Harlot in Eau Claire and got a cute photo of her with a small child. I posted it on my blog and somehow she saw it and linked to it in her blog. I had over a thousand hits that day, a total not even approached in the time since.

  2. I actually have a blog reader (and I read hers) who found me based on a comment I left over on the harlot’s site! How odd is that? Did you get enough test knitters? I generally like knitting hats and do them reasonably quickly (unlike, say my husband’s sweater). So count me in. And unless you need the yarn to be a particular type, I have all some chunky yarn here I could use. Give me an idea of the gauge you’re looking at (in stockinette would be easiest) and approximate yardage and I’ll see if I have something. Oh, and the pattern before I actually make a hat, right…

  3. My blog serves mostly as a repository for my occasional free patterns, and Knitting Pattern Central is by far the largest source of my blog readers, I get easily 600 or 800 hits a day for several days in a row whenever I post a new pattern. It’s been a really great way for me to get exposure for my patterns. It’s also a marvelous resource for finding obscure patterns which are not yet on Ravelry. I like Crochet Pattern Central as well.

Leave a Reply

