Eye(Ris) Candy Friday

Two days ago, when there was sunshine:

Either the aliens have landed, or my tall irises are blooming!

Just in time for our wedding anniversary, which is TODAY, not the 27th, which is what I said before.  (I can’t believe I wrote that! My only excuse is that the 27th is a friend’s birthday, and obviously I got my special occasion wires crossed. But it had the side effect of making my mother happy that she doesn’t have Alzheimer’s, if she can remember her daughter’s anniversary date better than her daughter….)

And indeed the lilies of the valley, the flower I most wanted in my wedding bouquet, are unusually in full bloom still, with our late spring. Mmmm.

White coral bells, upon a slender stalk

Liles of the valley deck my garden walk.

Oh, don’t you wish that you could hear them ring?…

Sixteen years ago today, it was a very nice day on the banks of the Mississippi, as I recall.

16 responses to “Eye(Ris) Candy Friday

  1. That will happen only when the (yarn)fairies sing.

    Happy anniversary!!!

  2. Wow, and what eye candy that is!

    Happy Anniversary.

  3. I remember that song, too — used to love it in grade school. On Wednesday I walked past a patch of lilies of the valley in St. Paul near the Yarnery, and they smelled wonderful.

  4. Guess what? I forget the date of my anniversary all the time! (It’s next Monday.) Hope yours was happy.

  5. This is the first time I have seen a white iris, it is quite beautiful.
    Happy Anniversary!

  6. Happy Anniversary!!

  7. Happy anniversary!

  8. Happy Anniversary!

  9. Happy Anniversary! Do something special to celebrate.

  10. Congratulations – go listen to the fairies sing.

  11. Many happy returns!

  12. Happy Anniversary!!! Great flower pics there. All with that little olympus? Gotta get one of those!

  13. martha in mobile

    Happy Anniversary! As it happens, I have been married so many times that my parents long ago gave up trying to keep track of my anniversary…what a lovely couple you made/make!

  14. Happy anniversary!

  15. Happy Anniversary! (late)

  16. Oh my Gosh! Happy Belated Anniversary! What a lovely photo of you and your Rock Star (if I recall correctly:))

Leave a Reply

