Saturday Skies and a Sideways Revue

To make up for the recent Saturdays that I didn’t take pictures (rare, but it happens); today I ended up taking a number of Saturday Sky pictures!

I thought I had taken my Saturday Sky picture this morning on the way to work: the beautiful Spring Green leaves against a cool blue spring sky were gorgeous.

But then, I thought perhaps you’d want to see the construction crane at work today: you’ve seen it before!

Nothing exciting on it today, though.

Then, this afternoon, there were scattered showers amid sunshine, with predictable results, so I had to take another picture.

But quickly it cleared up again, so that when I went to the post office 15 minutes later to MAIL THE GRAND PRIZES FOR THE BLOGIVERSARY RAFFLE*, I had to take another picture, this was so striking outside the post office:

OK! Surely a surfeit of Saturday Sky pictures for one day, all fine pictures!

But then, after eating the ceremonial first drive-in meal of the year, a storm blew in from the north near sunset:

(I couldn’t capture the lightning, but it was quite a show.) (Frickin’ power lines, though. Front yard and back yard both. Grrrr.)

Speaking of quite a show:

(How’s that for a segue?)

Daughter number one’s school musical was last night — one performance only!

I have to tell you the story. When the cast list went up, she only knew the name of her character and nothing else, given that this was a no-name play (i.e. nothing you’ve ever heard of). But she came home rather excited, saying, “I think I have a big part; because I have TWO NAMES!”

What?

Well, the 8th grade boy who always gets the lead was one of the only other characters on the posted cast list who had a first and a last name. Most of the other characters just had a first name. Her character’s name was “Laura Carter”. Two names.

She was right; she was one of the leads. She sang a solo as the second song of the play. And had a second solo later, danced, was on stage much of the time. She was awesome (and it’s not just mom talk here). She gets those performer/actor genes from her father!

She also did a monologue before the play, “Cinderelly of the Valley”, a Valley Girl retelling of the Cinderella story, pretty funny, except everyone kept telling her it wasn’t really acting for her, which made her pout. Anyway, we seem to have a young triple threat on our hands. She really is a formidable singer, a quite good dancer, and a good actor as well. ‘Twill be interesting, the next few years and onward….

True confession here: I may take a few pretty pictures; but a videographer I ain’t. And I have proof. I didn’t know till now that you can’t readily rotate a video the way you can a photo. (At least not with my camera & software or lack thereof.) But if you want to see & hear the twelve-year-old sing & dance a bit — SIDEWAYS — here you go. (Just don’t send me the chiropractor’s bill, please.) Those of you here for the knitting and the flowers — nothing more to see today! Tomorrow, a bit o’ knitting.

* Consolation prizes are mostly put together, except for a few final selections, and will go out Monday, hooray!

6 responses to “Saturday Skies and a Sideways Revue

  1. What a great post!

    Those pics are fantabulous.

    Re: videography, at least you knew how to turn the camera on. I took a video only to discover that when I turned it off, I was actually turning it on. I got a nice video of my feet.

    A wise woman told me:

    How do you keep from making mistakes ….

    On my way to watch the sideways video.

  2. Glad I have a laptop to prop on it’s side! What a cutie pie! A couple years older and my 15/16 yr. old might bother to drive to WI!

  3. martha in mobile

    Her wonderful talents and skills will serve her well, no matter where her path leads!

  4. She is good! Looks like she was enjoying herself, too. You can be proud.

    We had that same cloudy – sunny – dark and downpour – sunny – dark and downpour – sunny yesterday.

  5. Way cool how your sky was all over the map! I liked best when your #1 would put her hands on her hip and give a sly look over the shoulder. Sounds like she surprised you at the end there with her split!

  6. The weather was just as variable here as there on Saturday, it appears. Absolutely couldn’t make up it’s mind what it was going to do.

Leave a Reply

