I is for Icicle

Not so much this kind of Icicle

but this Icicle!

Yarn Pirate Booty Club Icicle yarn; Merino/Tencel, the December 2007 yarn.

As soon as I saw this yarn, I thought Scarf.

So when International Scarf Exchange 6 came along, and my scarf pal requested “anything but pink or earth tones”, I knew this yarn was meant to be for her. Particularly since this is a late spring exchange, and the Tencel blend feels ‘cooler’ to the touch; so this can be worn as a decorative fashion accessory now, or wrapped around the neck under a coat later in the year, for some extra warmth.

I debated and looked at patterns and swatched.

And in the end, came back to the first pattern I thought of:

The Waterfall Scarf, from 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders (designed by Linda O’Leary).

(Here it is on Ravelry, for Ravelers; for those not on Rav, here’s a knitblogger showing her lovely version.)

Unfortunately, I’ve already had to frog it. I misremembered the directions as “repeat row 1 and 2 to desired length” when I was knitting it while away from home (at Sock Camp; I didn’t want to take the book and the directions were easy. Ha!.) And with something as easy as that, who checks?

But the directions really read, “repeat row 2 to desired length.”

Ooops.

So now I’ve started again, and have little to show you. Especially since this is a dropped-stitch pattern, where all the fun comes at the end when you deliberately drop stitches. Otherwise, it’s all twisted garter stitch, not as fast as I thought it would be to knit (particularly in fingering weight, even though the yarn is awesome), and not so exciting to knit.

But, before I frogged it, I did drop a column of stitches just to have fun and get a preview; so now you get a preview too.

Since this is the Waterfall scarf being made in Icicle yarn:

The obvious name will be the Frozen Waterfall Scarf.

You heard it here first, folks.

I is for Icicle.

(P.S. It’s ironic that I’m hearkening back to winter when it FINALLY seems to be spring. The leaves have just burst forth, a few flowering trees are starting to bloom, my tulips and daffodils are going great guns; our two weeks of spring are here!)

6 responses to “I is for Icicle

  1. Guess what I’m making for my ISE6 pal? Let’s see, could it be a Waterfall Scarf? You bet, but I’m using a cotton/wool blend of Noro. (Also in shades of blue, but it’s more turquoise and goes into purple.) Yours is going to be beautiful – I haven’t used my Icicle yarn yet, but a scarf is a great idea.

    I actually finished the scarf, but photos will come after blocking. I made one of these for me some time ago out of wool and I love it. It’s light and airy, but keeps the chill off the neck.

    I’m happy to know that great minds continue to think alike.

  2. Oooh, my daughter just bought that book! So many treasures inside! I was looking at that pattern – you chose wonderful yarn for it!

  3. The yarn is gorgeous – and the scarf is going to be beautiful. Lucky swap partner!

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have a couple balls of Madil Eden bamboo yarn that need to be that scarf! I started a narrow Clapoutis with it last year but it curled in an unattractive manner so I frogged it. This pattern will be perfect. Whee!

  5. Love that sheen in the yarn!

  6. Pingback: frog

Leave a Reply

