A Month Of Saturdays

I’m so delinquent; I haven’t put up a Saturday Sky in a month.

Because I’ve been gone every Saturday till now!

Well, Saturdays, let me show you them.

First, this Saturday just past (at least the good Saturday Sky part).

That was, however, not how it looked in the morning, when I took the Preteen to a 7 am babysitting job and the Gothlet to a 5 K Girls on the Run run/walk. No, it was 41 degrees and raining nicely with a 20 mph NW wind. Brrr! And then I went to work. And then the weather turned nice. (You know you’re working/blogging too much when the only way you know it’s gotten nice outside is that your WeatherPixie is wearing a sleeveless shirt under a virtual sun.)

So the rest of the day, not too newsworthy, other than I got dragged to went to “Iron Man”, by with my husband and our friends (it was the guys’ idea), and it was actually really a blast. I enjoyed it! I didn’t knit (no stockinette project in a suitable state), and my fingers hardly twitched, so you know it must have been pretty ok.

Last Saturday:

Neenah!

Knitting classes with Lucy Neatby, Janet Szabo, and Margaret Fisher (the ones I took), and a road trip with three friends, plus meeting up with a Sock Camp friend, makes for a great weekend.

Unfortunately, I did not specifically take a Saturday Sky picture: my brain was full at lunchtime when we got sprung for a bit!

There is SaturDayLight coming through the windows of this cool coffeehouse where we had lunch:

Karla, Cheri, and me — whoops, Lee’s taking the picture.

Here she is with Karla:

This place was great; the Aspen Cafe, I believe? Look at what you can have for breakfast.

We drove over across the state Friday night, and I had classes with Lucy Neatby Saturday morning and afternoon. My hands were tired, my brain was full, but my heart was happy! Lucy Neatby is amazing. I know I said this already, but if she’s giving a class anywhere within reach of you, GO. She is an incredible teacher. And something of a genius. The first class was all about short rows (I learned things I didn’t know, including the Japanese short row, which I’ll be trying at the next opportunity) with Lucy’s cast-off variation as a bonus. Then, after a short lunch break to settle the brain cells, an afternoon class about her Magic Buttonhole and Double Band for cardigans. I’ve never been happy with my buttonholes or button bands. You should see my swatch! (Gee, I should photograph my swatch and show it to you, how’s about that! ‘K, I will, and add it in.)

Another short break, and then the banquet, with good food, great company, door prizes (which two of my three knitting companions won!), a Show and Tell (I showed my Lopi EPS with a length problem), and, wait, look, who’s that over there?

In the center picture, in the purple (more blue-ish in real life, as I recall): Blogless Carla from Sock Camp! Yay! We were at different tables at the banquet but got to hang out at lunch the next day and nostalgically relive the events of the week before last (and moan about how hard the re-entry to non-Sock Camp life was). What fun! I had just reminded Carla two days before the classes, that we were only a state apart, when she happened to mention that she was going to a knitting seminar in Neenah, Wisconsin, having no idea that I would also be there. Synchronicity….

After the banquet, the wonderful owners of “Yarns by Design“, the really great yarn shop which put on the “Midwest Masters” Seminar, opened up the shop late. They are a US distributor for Lucy Neatby so had some hard-to-find things, and a nice shop ambience.  It’s rather fun to be shopping for yarn when everyone else in town is drinking beer and bowling (seriously; there was a bowling tournament in town too).

Here are my friends waiting for me to finish checking out, since I tried my hardest to make it worth the shop-owners’ while to stay open late. (The shop had been full, but everyone else had gone back to the hotel by this point.)

The next morning brought an also wonderful class with Janet Szabo, known for her cable work and original designs in particular. This class taught a method to convert stitch patterns from being written (i.e. in a stitch dictionary) in the flat, to being written and charted (yay!) in the round. I had muddled my way through this process in designing the Wedding Pi shawl, and although a couple patterns were a piece of cake to convert, the last one (Bell Lace), has a variable number of stitches before and after the main pattern repeat on every row; does NOT have plain purl-back rows; and has a changing stitch count with every other row (the actual stitch count of which Barbara Walker does not give you, just that it reverts to the original number on the last row). I’m surprised I have any hair left, after pulling it out so much. It made me feel better that Janet told us in class that that was really hard. I really enjoyed her class and learned a lot; I think we analyze things in the same way.  And she knows & works with one of my teachers at Sock Camp, J C. Cool!

Another quick lunch (I did get a picture that day)

(The yarn shop is the second blue awning, halfway down the block.)

Then my last class, taught by Margaret Fisher, the Long & Short of Knitting Alterations, to which I brought my too-short Lopi sweater. We learned to put in ‘safety lines’ and cut our knitting without even the help of a stiff drink (though the fact that it was only swatches helped). We learned/practiced grafting. The crochet provisional cast-on was shown.  And then we discussed sweater alteration strategies (my proposed plan was endorsed about the Lopi EPS sweater, i.e. cutting just below the colorwork band above the ribbing, unraveling the ribbing, knitting this reclaimed yarn into the body of the sweater to lengthen it; using ‘new’* cream-colored Lopi yarn to knit downwards, possibly with a second colorwork band to disguise the slight color change, and then knitting a hem rather than reknitting the ribbing (my body’s changing since 1983, fancy that!). Possibly the same for the sleeves.

*Actually old cream-colored Lopi from about the same vintage, but it’s been stored all these years and is noticeably brighter.

After our last classes (we all took different ones, but ended up in and out of each others’, other than me & Lee, but we were roommates!), then back into the car and home. We made a driver switch at the location pictured below, and I couldn’t help but think that our husbands probably thought we were here all along (Click pic if you can’t read it.):

And thence, home.

Whew.

OK, no big details about the rest of the Month of Saturdays, as this post will take forever to load anyway, and it’s late.

But here’s my first Saturday in Seattle:

I got up before the sun rose in the Saturday Sky:

before the dew was off the grass.

And wandered around the ornamental trees and flowers around the hotel and surrounding buildings.

Then, on the hotel shuttle bus on the way to the airport, The Mountain (Mt. Rainier) was out! (Bad picture, color-enhanced.) I have a number of other pictures, (this was yarn crawl day on the Knotorious Knitters bus!), but not as many pictures as I should, because I ran out of battery before Bainbridge Island.

This was a gorgeous day in the upper 70s, not humid, light breeze, amazing.

The next Saturday: was NOT.

When I got up early on Saturday, on Orcas Island, Washington, here’s what it looked like from my room balcony.  

I didn’t get a photo of the Saturday Sky from the bay that morning, but if I had, I bet it would have looked like this, which was the snow moving in across the bay, the day before.

And then a snowy thus slower drive to the ferry; an uneventful ferry ride other than the ferry being a bit late due to weather and some sort of drill; a bus ride to the airport accompanied by increasing tension, as two of our number (CeCe and Carla) had an earlier flight out of SeaTac, for which the weather and the ferry were going to make them very significantly later than desireable. (They made it, in the nick of time.) And my somewhat eventfully delayed flight to Minneapolis:

 (the white patch is the storm that delayed my flight considerably and led to the need for de-icing, as seen when we finally got airborne, click to embiggen if you wish)

  Finally flying out of the bad weather,  then eventual arrival truly back home.

Makes me tired all over again just typing about it.

More to come, promise. Like actual Knitting knitting.

Back to the laundry!

3 responses to “A Month Of Saturdays

  1. Fun times! Thanks for sharing, and let’s hope the coming Saturday sky is pristine blue!

  2. I’m tired just reading about it. It looks like you had fun.

  3. Who needs actual knitting with a great knitting related post like that?!?!!? I would love to see those swatches. Talk about packing your brain full of info, wow you were busy!

Leave a Reply

