Hither and Thither

Some things have traveled a long way to come hither….

This is a Wee Tiny Sock for Emily’s Wee Tiny Sock Swap, that was lovingly made in South Africa by Ruth (a mother of an adorable but teething at the time baby, no less!), and which made it halfway across the world in a week.

Isn’t it wonderful! I love it! And I had just bought a tiny sock blocker keychain. I needed a new keychain; I used to have a red pointe shoe on my keychain to prevent accidental key exchange between me and my husband (he’s taken mine, I’ve taken his, until the pointe shoe went on), but the shoe just recently disintegrated. So now I have a hand-knit Wee Tiny Sock instead of a shoe! Awesome.


Some other things are still traveling Hither that were supposed to be here by now, through no fault of the senders. Heidi Kim, my partner in the Hand-Dyed Yarn Swap, sent the yarn that she had dyed, even before I mailed hers, and she received her package over a week ago in Norway. Dang! I wonder if it’s held up in Customs? You know how suspicious yarn can look.

And I ordered more Mini-Moo cards, to be able to give people at Sock Camp, which were mailed first class from London over two weeks ago. The last set arrived exactly a week after mailing. This time, no dice. Sigh.

Well, as things wend their way Hither to my house from across the Atlantic, I’m flying Thither, away from them, towards the Pacific!

As I told you before, I am going to the beautiful Pacific Northwest for Blue Moon Fiber Arts Sock Camp!  And as I put this post up, I have just arrived in Seattle, where it is a gorgeous late afternoon. 

So much fun is planned for the next 48 hours that I can hardly stand it myself.  I’m not sure it’s legal.  And that’s before Sock Camp even begins….

Tomorrow, a yarn crawl on a shorty schoolbus, with a passel of Notorious Sock Knitters, through some of Seattle’s finest yarn shops (and they have a number), ending up with dinner at Café Nola on Bainbridge Island.  Insanity on wheels, in all the best ways.

Sunday, a wonderful gift from a generous fellow knitblogger, Astrid; the gift of her time to show me around her hometown.  Wow.  I’m blown away.  I was thinking we’d meet for coffee (it is Seattle, after all!) and Astrid offers to take me around to whatever I want to see.   Knitters are an amazing bunch. I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this.

Then Monday, up to Sock Camp on Orcas Island.  Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, Cat Bordhi, and Tina of Blue Moon Fiber Arts; and more fun than one island can hold, from the sounds of it.  I have a good start on my homework, but I’m not done yet. 

I’m on the hotel computer, and no way to upload pictures; you may or may not hear from me over the next week.  But rest assured, I’m having fun! 

Wish you were here.  Tell you all about it when I get back.

12 responses to “Hither and Thither

  1. The “wee” sock is darling!
    … and I am quite of few shades green with envy, the Sock Camp sounds like loads of fun.
    Hope you have a great time!

  2. You are one adventurous lady, Cathy! I can’t wait to hear all about it, and see the photos when you return! I’m especially interested in knowing about the island you’re staying on – those Pacific Northwest islands always sound so romantic to me…

    The little sock is too cute.

  3. Have a great time!

  4. martha in mobile

    What a wonderful feeling and how well you describe it! I would be jealous if I wasn’t too busy being happy for the fun all of you will have!

  5. Wow – sounds like fun – I’m a bit jealous, but looking forward to hearing all about it when you get back!

  6. I ordered Moo cards as well, but they won’t be here for me to take to camp, either. I’ll have them for SeaSocks next month!

    See you on Orcas!

  7. Wow, only a week from South Africa to you! When I would attempt to mail things to my son when he was studying there in 2005, it took at least 3 weeks, if it got there at all.

    Have a wonderful time (sounds like you are already)!

  8. I’m wishing I was there too. Have a fabulous time!

  9. Wish I were with you too…you were at my favorite place in the Seattle Area Bainbridge. I hope you got to Churchmouse Yarns and Teas. Have a good time and I can’t wait to see the pictures.

  10. So not only are you totally fun to spend the day with, a wacked-out Sock Camp homework maker-upper (not sure I can reveal just what it is you are making yet), and a very generous yarn gifter, BUT you are so internet savvy that you can post to your blog — with pictures yet– from a remote location! I bow in your general direction, awestruck.

    Have a great time at Sock Camp!

    Astrid

  11. Astrid, rather than computer genius, chalk it up to not finishing things! I started this post, with the pictures, before I left home, but wasn’t able to finish it till I got to Seattle. I wish I *could* post pictures to show people the wonderful things we saw today (and the crazy yarn crawl yesterday!). But ’twill have to wait. I had a wonderful time today and thank you again from the bottom of my heart.

    The homework is proceeding apace, thank you; it’s looking much better at the moment, at least with the assistance of a little artistic vision and rose-tinted glasses. The latter, my specialty.

    And everyone, I truly wish you all could come to Sock Camp. We would have a blast together; it would be awesome! This is the last you will hear from me for a week; no cell phone coverage or computer access for me on The Island.

    I’ll be back….

  12. I hope Sock Camp is a delight. I wish I could be there, too!

Leave a Reply

