The Perfect Knitblogger’s Mom

The perfect knitblogger’s mom: The day before she gets her humungo first cast (aka Robert Jones dressing) off, she takes a picture to prove that her hand-knit Casbah Toe Sock actually fits over it. And has it delivered over on a flash drive to her blogger daughter.

postop-feet-4.jpg

I told you she was cool!

She’s happier that her subsequent cast is significantly smaller and lighter (also more colorful!), though it’s still a l-o-n-g time before weight can be borne.

Eventually, she’ll be able to wear the toe sock in its smallest configuration, however, inside a surgical boot, as below (imagine the boot):

one-toe-sock.jpg

K2 P2 rib is truly an amazing feat of engineering, n’est-ce pas?

If anyone wishes to recreate the amazing expandable Toe Sock, loosely cast on about 64 stitches in a sport or DK weight yarn (if you used fingering weight, I’d try 80), and join circularly using your circular knitting method of choice. Knit in K2 P2 rib on needles that are on the bigger side of the recommended range for your yarn (for maximum stretchiness), for about 6 – 8 inches, 15 – 20 cm (depending on the size of the recipient and the cast — the bigger the cast, the longer the sock needs to be).

Then decrease as follows:

Round 1: *k2, p2 tog, k2, p2* around (56 stitches)

Round 2: *k2, p1, k2, p2* around

Round 3: *k2, p1, k2, p2 tog* around (48 stitches)

Round 4: *k2, p1, k2, p1* around

Round 5: *k2, k2tog, k1, p1* around (40 stitches)

Round 6: *K4, p1* around

Round 7: *k3, SSK* around (32 stitches)

Round 8: *k2, k2 tog* around (24 stitches)

Round 9: *k1, k2 tog* around (16 stitches)

Round 10: *k2 tog* around (8 stitches)

This makes a ’round’ top like a hat, which makes whichever way the sock is put on, the correct way!

top-o-toe-sock.jpg

Break off yarn, thread yarn through stitches on needle, pull tight on inside with a single overhand knot, and weave in ends. Voila — a extremely adaptable toe sock.

And, if you don’t need a toe sock, it makes a great preemie hat!

toe-warmer-as-preemie-hat.jpg

11 responses to “The Perfect Knitblogger’s Mom

  1. martha in mobile

    Your sock is fabulous! And I think I will make it as a preemie cap. But your first photo gave me quite a start: I thought that was your mother’s actual foot on the right! I calmed down once I realized it was a bandage. Whew! Here’s good wishes for her continued recovery.

  2. Way to go mom! (And aren’t you the good daughter, too.)

  3. Your mom IS wonderful!

  4. well, I’m quite nuts for you, my dear – a cast sock for your mom. I hope if I ever need one (well, I hope I DON’T ever need one, of course) I hope my daughter makes me one. And a new shawl. Or two. Nevermind. HOWEVER! I b’lieve I’ll be making a preemie hat from that selfsame pattern for which I thank you mightily.

  5. Wow! That’s one versatile toe-sock!

    Hope your mom recovers just fine.

  6. I love that toe hat … er… head sock… er… nevermind! But I think I’ll make one in babysoft colors!

  7. Yay for computer-literate moms! And yay for a toe sock that converts to a preemie hat. I like the yarn, too — it reminds me of the famous Noro striped scarf.

  8. Wow…there’s a good mom. I love it….Toe sock with bonus preemie hat pattern.

  9. Pingback: Little Hats for Little Heads « Hither and Yarn

  10. Pingback: Weekend (Knitting) Update (or, Not More Hats, say the Cats) « Hither and Yarn

  11. Thanks for the wonderful pics of the cast sock. My daughter broke her leg sledding and I knew I would find a simple, yet useful, pattern. Your blog is fantastic. Your Mom rocks for taking pics.

Leave a Reply

