Go Pack!

Today’s the day. Wish them luck (unless you’re a Giants fan, in which case I forgive you).

go-pack.jpg

It was another frosty morning, – 20° F (-29° C) when I got up this morning, with a definite wind chill (I didn’t really want to know how low).

subzero-sunday-morning.jpg

New frost picture, not recycled from yesterday; this was the view out my bedroom window this morning.

Yesterday, after my whining about having to shuttle kids around in the cold, I ended up lucking out — my husband’s 11 am meeting was postponed, so he took the younger daughter, Gothlet, to her birthday party, and The Preteen, my older daughter, definitively decided she was going to drop her Saturday noon modern dance class (she’s been considering it for a while, and since she’s going to be missing a number of upcoming classes due to conflicts, I think it’s a good call overall) — so I didn’t have to go anywhere! I stayed inside and cleaned and knit! And nagged daughter #1 to clean, which is more work, and certainly more aggravating, than doing it yourself.

Today, however, I couldn’t get away with staying home like this guy could;

fast-asleep.jpg

I had obligations at church, which is only half a block away, so out I went (I think it was up to -15° F by then) — choir rehearsal then singing at the late service (a gospel piece today, fun, though relatively hard for Lutherans to do with the proper looseness and spontaneity). I really *should* go into work some time today to do some catch-up stuff, but I don’t want to. And then, there’s The Game, of course. Knitting and cheering.

Here’s what I’ve been working on:

My father’s overdue Oktoberfest socks, posing on sock blockers from The Loopy Ewe, a great place to internet shop.

oktoberfest-socks-on-sunday-morning.jpg

Man, these Irish knots for the “Manly Barleycorn” version take me a long time, cumulatively. I guess it’s only logical, given that for each one, you knit into the same stitch five times, then pull four stitches over the last one made; so essentially nine stitches for each one, not to mention that knitting those last few tight stitches in the knot, and then the passing-stitches-over part, both take longer than just knitting and purling away. But I’m on the last row that I’m going to do Irish knots; after this, I will do one pattern repeat of the original Barleycorn Eyelet (evoking the bubbles rising to the top) and then the foamy, creamy head that is the ribbing (see here and scroll down for the Tsock Tsarina’s original), and then I’m done!

With one. Oops. Celebration would be premature. But I’d love to get them done before my father gets back from the sunny Southwest at the end of the month, so I’ll be carrying these around with me from here on out, for maximum stitching time. And the foot goes fast; it’s just that I can’t knit the knot part as easily in line, during choir rehearsal etc.

The thrummed mittens are coming along; I’ll probably knit on them during today’s game.

thrummed-mitten-pregame.jpg

Hoping for sympathetic magic to keep the hands of a certain quarterback and his receivers warm. They’re certainly working for me, even without being done yet!

thrummed-mitten-being-modeled.jpg

Notice the Green Bay Packer green sweatshirt sleeve.

Go Pack!

7 responses to “Go Pack!

  1. martha in mobile

    Aren’t those mittens heavenly to make and wear? They’re like having bunnies wrapped around your hands. I made a pair for my daughter and she wore them every cold day until she outgrew them. So, here in Mobile, Alabama, that meant she wore them 3 times.

  2. Nice socks! I didn’t know you were allowed to do *any* eyelets in them.

    I’m not an anything fan, but I’m a vicarious Packer fan, a Packer-Backer-by-Proxy, as it were. The Boy(tm), a Green Bay native, is wearing the good-luck Packer socks I made him, of course. And me – well, I’ve passed La Crosse😉 and am just about at Oshkosh; dunno if I’ll make it to Green Bay by game time (it’s still about 24 rows away), but I should at least get there during. If I get back to work *now*.

  3. My older nephew and his dad will be at today’s game! (They are big time Green Bay fans and have only grown more loyal as a result of moving from Iowa to Wisconsin.)

    The family financial advisor lucked out and got the company’s tickets and invited them along. Greg (my brother-in-law) had looked at tickets on-line, but you can imagine what they cast! Now they get to go for free!

    I don’t think my nephew has had a really full night’s sleep since he got the good news.🙂

  4. Love the ocher yellow in that yarn! I have a packers picture for you (from maine!)… will download pics tomorrow and send to you.

  5. The mittens look fabulous, and astonishingly warm! The kids are adorable. The Packers . . . well, my deepest condolences.

  6. Again, football? I really like the socks and mitten, though.

  7. Too bad for the Pack… and for us. I’m loving your socks and mitts, though- lovely color, even after the contrasting green sweatshirt is put away until the new season!

    I had to chuckle at your Lutheran gospel singing reference… having grown up among the lefse/lutefisk crowd, I’m having fun picturing those very earnest folks letting it all loose!

Leave a Reply

