I’m Going To Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter. . .

…so I can mail it with a knitting stamp!

I’m sure many of you have seen the new USPS stamps featuring knitting. Yay!

knitting-stamps.jpg

What I just found out yesterday from Bonne Marie is that there are knit-ins happening at various US Post Offices across the country!

Here’s the link.

Go check it out and come back.

Cool!

But. . . .

doesn’t it occur to you to wonder who picked these post offices?

I regret to confess that I live in Wisconsin and had never, I think, even heard of Butternut, WI. Even though its zip code is not that far off mine. Upon investigating, the metropolis of Butternut is pretty far “Up Nort'”, and has a population of 407 in the 2000 census. OK; I guess I feel better about not knowing where Butternut is.

But — why Butternut? The world may never know.

11 responses to “I’m Going To Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter. . .

  1. I too was wondering about the post offices chosen for this amazing event. Why not more? Why obscure locations? Why, in the very populated state of California, is there not one location? The public may never know…
    Thanks for the information!

  2. I don’t believe it’s that these post offices were chosen; rather they probably had postmasters willing to arrange the event and local people who volunteered to assist. My mother is currently the postmaster in a very tiny office (she works there alone, with no mail carriers or window clerks) and had mentioned that “the Post Office” (as in, the heads of the organization) had asked for all offices to do something knitting-related.

    She told me that when I come home for Christmas break I have to come sit in her office and knit. Hahahaha. But I did give her a washcloth and bath puff set in red, white, and blue to put on display.

  3. I’m sure that Dana is right and it’s dependent on the postmaster for that office to do it, but it’s very sad that there’s 3 post offices in Florida and not a single one in Minnesota that has a knit in.

  4. My dad’s family had a cabin on the Turtle Flambeau Flowage for years — and I’d go through Butternut at least once each summer. It is WAY up nort. The last time I was there was… just last summer with my family. We had lunch at “Jumbo’s,” I believe, which is just a couple doors down from a cozy quilting shop. I stopped in there a few years ago and they were all very friendly.

  5. Wah! I had no idea there were knitting stamps! How thrilling. I must make a stop at the post office. Thanks for the info.😀

  6. Wow! Knitting stamps! The ME knit in happened yesterday, and I never knew!

  7. Oh man! I used to live close enough to one of those post offices that I could see it from my living room window. No more, and now I live where I don’t even have a yarn store less than an hour drive away.

  8. I bought some of those stamps for our Christmas letter but didn’t look closely enough to realize they were knitting stamps. Duh.

  9. Hi, Cathy-Cate

    Thank you for your advice on fat headed people trying to make hats that fit. I had no idea the hats were supposed to be a couple of inches smaller. Can you tell how green I am?

    Thanks again

    Anita

  10. Hubby laughed when i was excited about the knitting stamps! My mom is a mailcarrier, she said that the post offices were considered when the post offices post master made the request to be included in the event, then chosen from those who did request. Seeing the majority of postmasters are men, and the majority of knitters women…who knows how many really requested this during the holiday season!

  11. Pingback: Sunday Update, knitting and otherwise « Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

