For Kaitlyn

A beautiful young dancer overdosed Monday.

rosebud.jpg

I had been acquainted with Katie through dance for years, and got to know her better when we danced together in the Reedpipes dance of the Nutcracker Ballet a few years ago.   (You get to know someone’s personality pretty well when it’s just three dancers and the director in one dance studio for hours on end.)  She was so full of life and passion that I cannot conceive of her brightness no longer being with us.  Smart, willowy beautiful, genuinely concerned about other people; she lit up any room.  And any stage she was on.  She was a knitter — I helped her cast on a scarf one Nutcracker.

She was only 20.   She was just trying to make the pain go away.

Katie, we miss you.

7 responses to “For Kaitlyn

  1. Oh, I’m soo sorry!
    Was she in physical or emotional pain?

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry. This is the young woman I read about, isn’t it? I’ve been thinking about her and those who’d be touched by this ever since I first read it.

  3. Oh my Lord…. My heart weeps for those who feel there is just no option but to close the doors on their friends.. and finally on themselves.

    Amanda

  4. So sad. Especially when there is [probably] help if she had only known where and how to look for it. I’m so sorry for her family and all who miss her.

  5. so sorry for your loss, and for our loss as well.

  6. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  7. Pingback: J is for Jeté « Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

