Gordian Knot Undone

I have been making inroads on my autumnal lace pancake (aka Wedding Pi Shawl), and the predictable consequences were that tonight I had to deal with the internal workings of this:

gordian-knot.jpg

A barfglob, as Wendy put it some time ago.

As I suspected, I had to adopt a semi-Alexandrine technique to undo the Gordian knot (no sword, however, just a firm pull) and break the yarn in two places to facilitate untanglage.

What was rather amusing was that, after 20 – 30 minutes of serious untangling, I ended up with this:

gordian-knot-undone.jpg

The two places I broke the yarn, at seemingly opposite ends of the barfglob, ended up being a yard and a half apart.

A little splice action, and I’m knitting away again!

A view of the Mississippi River while running errands this afternoon; this is a couple miles from my house, looking downriver while crossing the sloughs (backwaters).

mississippi.jpg

One response to “Gordian Knot Undone

  1. Holy Carp that view is gorgeous!!

    Don’t you love how yarn f**ks with us sometimes🙂

Leave a Reply

