Sunday Stitching Smorgasbord

Knitting? You want some knitting finally?

OK, here’s my Red Scarf in progress:

red-scarf-long-2.jpgred-scarf.jpg

This is “Durango” yarn (wool/acrylic), heavy worsted, knit in Barbara Walker’s “Cartridge Belt Rib” stitch. This scarf has been making the rounds this fall as the “Corrugarter/Corrugator“, but I do feel the need to point out that I have been knitting scarves like this for at least 5 years! Years ago, I found this stitch pattern while searching for a interesting but non-feminine stitch for a male friend’s scarf. This is a great, non-curling, fast, easy stitch with textural interest, which fits well with this tweedy yarn, I think. The scarf is about twice this length now; it goes fast!

I also have the opportunity to show you a pre-blogging FO of which I’m very proud. The owner needed it re-blocked, so I took it back to do so and thus got to photograph it! This was a gift to one of our pastors, who has become a friend, to honor her first year of service as a pastor and in our church. I designed it from scratch; I did not find any patterns for knitted liturgical stoles even with Google! The stitch pattern is from our old friend, Barbara Walker, again; the “Embossed Twining Vine Leaf” from “A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns”, modified a little at the beginning and the end of the pattern.

Here it is:

stole-on-balcony.jpgstole-on-grass.jpg

stole-detail.jpg

(Click the thumbnails below if you’re really interested in the shaping details)

top-of-stole-detail.jpgdetail-of-top-of-stole.jpgdetail-of-back-of-stole.jpgneck-shaping-detail.jpgstole-neck.jpg

Knit in Noro Kureyon, as many could have guessed. This yarn drove me slightly crazy at the time, due to slight variations in yarn thickness, the knots, the abrupt changes in color at the knots, and the vegetable matter. You can see in the closeup the irregularities from the Noro’s variable thickness; at the time it did not fit with my perfectionistic vision. Now I think it looks rather cool with the irregularities. At least it looks hand-made and real! No clue about needles except I deliberately knit it tightly to keep its structure without pulling out of shape from the weight (it’s LONG). At some point, I will get a photo of it on the recipient. [Now that it’s reblocked and looks better, of course.] The edging is seed stitch, to theologically accompany the theme of the vine and the branches; green being the ‘ordinary’ liturgical color for much of the church year. (Green was my plan, anyway; the Kureyon didn’t always cooperate. At the end, I started breaking and rejoining yarn for desired color effects; I rather wish I’d done that at the beginning.) Knit from the bottom up, the neck being shaped first with decreases, to narrow the stole as it goes over the shoulders, then the point shaped with short rows and joined with a decorative three needle bind-off.

Yep, I’m proud of it, even if there were a couple things I wish I’d done differently, and even though I may take it back and knit a facing for it when it’s ‘out of season’ (right now it has a fabric backing for stability, but I think a knitted backing would probably work better to control the curl at the bottom, yet keep a little drape). It still turned out well for something that I made up all my own self, I think. That is, it turned out mostly like I had been picturing it!

Lastly, speaking of church and pastors, this afternoon we had a fun event: The Blessing of the Animals, which our church holds on the Sunday nearest the feast day of St. Francis.

Many dogs friends.jpgbella-participating-in-service.jpgnoble-dachsund.jpg,

some cats lion-and-the-lamb.jpg,

a hamster hamster-junior-brier.jpg,

a bearded dragon lulu.jpg,

and a corn snake trinity-closeup.jpg (guess whose)

came with their humans.

We sang “(All God’s Critters Got) A Place in the Choir“by Bill Staines pastor-melinda-playing-guitar.jpg,

said the prayer of St. Francis, talked about how animals are part of our bigger family and what animals give to us and deserve of us, and then each animal got an individual blessing.

trinity-blessing-1.jpg

citrus-being-blessed.jpg

It was weirdly hot for October (we’re usually having our first hard frost right around this date), and it ended with angst since a certain Preteen decided to put Citrus the cat down in the church, where he got freaked out by the dachshund, tore down the hall after peeing (on tile, thank heavens) and disappeared for almost an hour. Only when my husband called him did he finally peep up, where he had hidden behind some boxes in a storage area. Arg. OK, next time, we will have a carrier and we will only take the cat out at certain predetermined and pre-agreed-upon times. One assumes certain rules are self-evident; like, umm, I don’t know, don’t let a cat loose in the church? But apparently some of these rules have to be explicitly stated. Of course, it had to be OUR pet running amok.

However, at least we *did* find the cat, and it really was a very enjoyable time.

All God’s critters got a place in the choir

Some sing low, some sing higher

Some sing out loud on the telephone wire,

Some just clap their hands, or paws, or anything you got now!

13 responses to “Sunday Stitching Smorgasbord

  1. what lovely scarves…

  2. Love the vine scarf! So beautiful!

  3. Crafty Librarian

    Those scarves are gorgeous – I can see I have a lot to live up to when knitting your ISE5 scarf! We got mail this morning so your yummy yarn should be waiting for me when I get home this evening – I’d better get swatching!

  4. I really love Bill Staines, but all the albums of his that I own are on tape. I really should track them down on CD so I can listen to him more regularly again. Have you heard the live version of “All God’s Critters” where he tells the story about “the porcupine talks to himself”?

  5. Lovely scarves… I like that ribby one. What a great day for St. Francis… must be Catholic? I have some stories for you! Know the other verses?? The one that is coming to mind is ‘listen to the bullfrog, he’s the one on the bottom, … where the something moans and the hippopotomus groans and the old cow just goes moo’.

  6. Just have been away from your blog so long it has taken me an hour to catch up. I missed SO much and I am so glad to be back here…..a little hard drive crash will do that to you. Take good care of hand and heart. L-o-v-e all the repetition with variation in the leaves. xo M.

  7. Thanks for the inspiration!

  8. Someone pointed me to your page, where I saw the clergy stole you made. I would be interested in seeing the pattern. You said that you had notes on it, but somehow I couldn’t find them. Any help you can give me would be much appreciated.
    Thanks.
    Katherine
    PS You do beautiful work!

  9. I’d like to second Katherine’s request! My husband is a minister, and I’m working on a set of stoles for his birthday. Yours is beautiful: what an extraordinary stole to wear during the “ordinary” time! If you have a pattern or advice on duplicating your vine and branches, I would be most greatful!

    Beth

  10. I just found the clergy stole. It is so beautiful! I would love to make one. Will you share the instructions? I am willing to pay!

  11. I would love the instructions for the stole as well. It is beautiful!

  12. My husband is getting ordained in June & I would love to knit this stole for him, I have been searching for patterns on the web without much luck. How did you work the mitered corner? Such a beautiful piece of work. I second Nancy Brunner’s comment, I would gladly buy this pattern from you.

  13. Have you ever released this stole pattern? I would love to make one…

Leave a Reply

