What Color Am I?

I have been musing about color lately, only egged on by Margene‘s post today about the very same subject.

One of the questions in the color meme that she has posted, is whether your favorite color has changed over the years.

I may do the whole meme at some point to explore color more, but that particular question just played right into my musings already in progress.

My favorite color certainly has changed, but what I find even more interesting is that my color dislikes have shifted and greatly decreased. I am much more tolerant of many more colors than I used to be, and see beauty in almost all. I personally don’t wear pastels, but they can be lovely in the right combination, for example. Or brights, which I used to abhor, can really perk up a knitted object or possibly an outfit.

And my least favorite color of my past leads me to my ‘color object lesson’ and to the stealth knitting project on which I am currently working.

No detailed photos, therefore, for obvious reasons, but here’s the scoop.

I used to dislike yellow as a child. Pretty intensely, actually. I distinctly remember writing a poem about yellow in elementary school in which I described it as a “mean” color.

But, I ask you: how could anyone dislike this?

mystery-yarn.jpg

Rich, subtly variegated golden yellow. Mmm! (Well, I suppose anyone can dislike anything, chacun à son goût, but believe me, if you saw this yarn in person, you’d be mesmerized.)

So here’s a poll:

What does this make you think of?

I know what the fiber artist & designer intended it to evoke, so I’m biased; but I’m curious about what it reminds you of.

Leave a comment and let me know!

(P.S.: a couple blog readers MAY know the yarn and its project. If so, don’t spill the beans in your comment, the future recipient could possibly read this blog!)

10 responses to “What Color Am I?

  1. In my I’ve been working 10 hours and I’m really tired state – the yarn looks like corn on the cob. It must be getting close to supper time!

  2. Color-wise (though not texture-wise) it makes me think of fresh corn on the cob, cooked up, with lots of butter on it. The intense yellow just broadcasts how yummy the first bite will be.

  3. I cannot believe sarah-hope beat me to my answer by 4 minutes. So here is another vote for summer corn fresh on the cob. Or is that too obvious?

  4. OK, looks like we are all thinking along the same lines! Corn, corn on the cob, but because it looks so squishy I want to say creamed corn (but it really doesn’t remind me of that-just like the way it sounds). But that deeper color reminds me of honey. Honeyed Amber Corn.

  5. I feel like I could smell the fresh straw right through the screen, the way an old barn smells on a warm day. It is Autumn to me. Love the color!

  6. Pingback: Colors redux — Fall and What Color Am I Now? « Hither and Yarn

  7. Yellow is an interesting color. I usually associate it with sunny days, a warm & happy color. This particular swatch reminds me of the center of a sunflower.

    (Of course, it usually looks horrible on pasty people— and absolutely gorgeous on people blessed with darker tones.)

    Once I read (can’t tell you where) that in some cultures yellow is associated with fear– sort of how red & black are perceived together.

  8. Pingback: I am the Color of…. « Hither and Yarn

  9. Pingback: Happy (Oktoberfest) Birthday! « Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

