Chilly Saturday Sky (and more fingerless mitts)

Frost warnings this morning. There wasn’t any frost on my roof or car windows, but others in town had some. We usually don’t get a frost for a couple weeks yet. Cold as it was, there was a chilly fog:

more-foggy.jpg

Someone has their furnace on already, see the smoke. Can’t blame them. It’s sure not my friend, who doesn’t turn the heat on till November 1 (unless maybe it snows). She was raised a hardy farm girl!

more-fog.jpg

no-bluff.jpg

Then the fog started to lift:

fog-starting-to-life.jpg

And by the time I was done with work at lunchtime, of course it was a gorgeous (cool) day:

sat-sky-after-fog.jpg

Now, just like last week’s Saturday Sky, let me tell you that there’s usually a bluff in some of those pictures. Actually, let me show you. Just for you, my blog readers, I went back and took more pictures after work of how things usually look:

(Thumbnails, click to enlarge if you wish.)

no-bluff-again.jpggrandad-bluff-fog-has-lifted.jpg

Yes, really the same view, look at the trees in the foreground and the conifer just behind the smaller tree on the right.

no-bluff.jpgfog-has-lifted-now.jpg

This is Grandad (or Grandad’s) Bluff, the highest bluff in the area, and the visual focal point of my city. I can see the bluff out our eastern windows, so when I get up, I check to see which way and how hard the wind is blowing the huge flag at the top of the bluff, to get a weather preview. (See the flag in the righthand picture just above?)

Apparently, Grandad’s Bluff is mentioned in Mark Twain’s Life on the Mississippi.

life_on_the_mississippi.jpg

(I’ll have to look that up for myself some time.)

How about a bit of knitting?

Here’s the pattern I’m working on, the piano teacher’s mitts, knit from elann.com Baby Cashmere (alpaca/merino/cashmere fingering weight):

piano-playing-gloves.jpg

They fit me (and the intended recipient) pretty much perfectly. But here they are (before ends were woven in) on my 9-year-old, and they fit her too! Amazing!

nine-year-old-with-piano-gloves.jpg

I even made my husband try them on; he does not have small hands at all; but they pretty much fit him as well. It’s like the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants!

So I’m going to knit these mitts again, refining the fit a little with the second pair, and then maybe write the pattern up. It’s simple, obviously, and these could be embellished easily with a lace pattern or cable on the back, but they’re very soft, warm and comfortable. Very suitable for indoor wear for those of us who don’t turn the heat on September, or who keep the heat low the winter through.

6 responses to “Chilly Saturday Sky (and more fingerless mitts)

  1. Those are beautiful mitts. I’d love to have the pattern if you choose to make it available.

  2. Wow!! I was reading along in your blog when I came to your mention of Grandad’s Bluff!! What a surprise!! I graduated from UW-L long ago…and that certainly brought back memories!!

    Unless, of course, there’s another Grandad’s Bluff that you’re referencing!
    🙂

  3. We’ve had the woodstove going! Mostly to burn up the old icebox that was in the basement and getting moldy. I really really need to get going on this fingerless kal!!

  4. Will you be selling/posting the fingerless glove pattern?

    I would love to knit them for some of my college age granddaughters. Walking to and fro on the campus calls for a pair of these lovely gloves.

    Please, consider it.
    sally

  5. I’m flattered by the interest!
    As above, I’m going to knit a second pair to try out some minor fit modifications, and then I’ll post it. My thought was to offer it for a free will donation to the Red Scarf Project, a buck or three, you know!
    I’ll try to knit the second pair (or one of the pair will suffice, I guess, since they’re interchangeable) this week and then I”ll post the pattern very soon.

  6. Pingback: Mo’ Mitts « Hither and Yarn

Leave a Reply

