Flora of Camp

I know this is rather bipolar, alternating between current and knitting events, and my recent vacation. Here, however, for those who like photographs and flowers, are some of the flowers and plants of our recent camp sojourn in Northern Minnesota.

I think I know what many of these flowers are, but I may be mistaken, so I will just present them with minimal commentary.

Down by the waterfront:

yellow-wildflower.jpg

At the edge of a meadow, this graceful curve:

seed-head.jpg

At path’s edge:

thistley-thingy.jpg

Deep woods hike:

fern-in-light-and-shadow.jpgaugust-blackberries.jpgbellflower.jpg

Aliens! No, sea creatures! No, roadside plants:

fuzzy-things.jpg

Early morning, under the oak tree with the acorns:

oak-tree-at-sunrise.jpg

These look like they belong in a Dr. Seuss book as the early morning sun hits them:

seussian-things.jpg

A wildflower, aka weed, that I’ve seen many places. Isn’t it pretty close up?

little-weed-flower.jpg

By the lake side again at dewy dawn:

dewy-purple-wildflower-closeup.jpgred-clover.jpg

reeds-reflecting.jpg

dewy-grass.jpg

Beside a different lake on a different day:

another-white-flower-closeup.jpg

Intertwined trees, locked together forever:

entwined-trees.jpg

3 responses to “Flora of Camp

  1. Thank you for sharing those beautiful photos. They left me feeling awake and refreshed and just plain grateful.

  2. Lovely. I feel like I just took a hike in the woods (minus the bugs and sweat). Thanks!

  3. Somehow I missed this post! What great pictures. Any you’re uncertain about? I (or if not me, my dh) can probably tell you what they all are, all but one look familiar (the white one by the lake)-but dh is an obsessed botanist, so he’d probably know it.

Leave a Reply

