Through with Two

…on Tuesday!

Clue Two of Mystery Stole 3, that is.

Here it is, posing by the light of dawn:

black-ms3-july-10-cropped.jpg

It’s not blocked as such, obviously, but stretched out enough that you can see the patterns.

It was a beautiful evening last night, and I blew off household chores, and sat outside and knit.  I see the out-of-doors little in a usual work day, so I need to get my fix on lovely nights like this.  However, picture knitting black lace while wearing a black dress, at dusk.  The last few rows were a bit of a challenge!  But I was determined, and now I’m through with Clue Two!  (In black, anyway….)

We’ll find out in a week and a half what the theme is. The theme clues, besides the pattern, are that black or white are the colors appropriate to the theme, and that it might not be appropriate for a wedding. Also, Melanie chose mythological/literary themes for the first two Mystery Stoles (Leda’s Dream and Scheherazade–available for purchase, BTW) . So there have been many guesses flying around the Yahoo group and the blogosphere; most of which I haven’t seen, actually (I gave up reading all the posted messages once the first clue came out). But here are the two things that those clues made me think of: Swan Lake, and Hades and Persephone.

I have to say, from what I see from the pattern so far, neither of those seems to be evoked. The bottom motif in the triangle point end looks Near or Middle Eastern to me, the border braid kind of Celtic or Saxon, and the diamonds look like tile, or a honeycomb, or just geometric shapes. So I’m baffled. But soon, the theme at least will be revealed.

Now I can do some more lace knitting in the cream laceweight version, as well as finish Second Baby Sock (who knew that SSS could occur even with tiny socks!). Tomorrow: a secret.

backlight-flower.jpg

4 responses to “Through with Two

  1. Beautiful knitting project, as always. I like your photo above, too. What plant is that?

  2. The plant is Russian Sage, which as I looked it up to be absolutely sure, is apparently listed as (growing) Zone 5-9. But it does great here in our Zone 4-bordering-on-5-maybe-in-the-valley. Very pretty, hardy and drought-tolerant.

  3. oh wow, your MS3 is looking gorgeous! How lovely to get outdoors knitting time, sounds like a wonderful way to spend some time!🙂

  4. Thanks for posting that pic of progress thus far… I signed up but wanted to see what it was before I knit it. I know, not very fun, huh? Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

