Fluffy Ruffles

or Ruffly Fluffles!

I told you I found some of the Online Linie 194 Solo yarn, the same yarn as the Yarn Harlot knit with, but different colors, on my knitting escapades in Chicago. Not that I don’t have anything else to do — but I had to cast on!

ruffle-scarf-side-1.jpg

The salesperson at the yarn shop I bought this at (the one with the lesser amount of customer service) told me verbally how to make the scarf, but after struggling with it for 10 rows, I found what I was told was a little wrong in that I was recommended to use big needles. That’s what the skein label says (I think that’s for knitting this bulky woven tape in the usual way) but for the ruffly scarf, it works MUCH better to use a thinner, pointier needle. The scarf pattern actually suggests size 4 to 7 US (3.5 to 4.5 mm) rather than 15 – 20 mm, US size 19 – 35!. 

3/1/08, ETA: The pattern WAS available on line, then not available, then a kind commenter just found it online and pointed it out below, here it is. (Look on the left of the page to download the .pdf.  Thanks, Deb J!

Also, check out Lion Brand Yarn instructions for Ruffles below; they have even more info now about knitting with this kind of yarn and in fact have videos on YouTube, which are reasonably helpful.

I’m twisting the yarn as to get a bicolor scarf, as Steph did. This one is in “Wine”.

ruffle-scarf-side-2.jpgruffle-scarf-side-1.jpg

Additional information about working with this general kind of yarn is found at the Lion Brand website for their similar yarn, Ruffles.

I’ve been seeing lots of search hits for this yarn on my blog, so I hope this helps.

11 responses to “Fluffy Ruffles

  1. Thank you SO much for your help with this! Your picture, the links to both Linie (yarnware) and Ruffles websites…very very good of you… I’ve had this yarn in the bottom of my knitting bag for far too long… I admit I’ve been intimidated by it…and it didn’t help that I couldn’t remember what the salesperson told me what to do last fall…. I have ended up using vintage Boye metal needles, size 1 and only cast on 5 stitches. I have only 3 skeins in my possession at this time (but WOW there are some beautiful color combinations out there! Just look at the yarnware website…) I know this all sounds very small – but these needles are very pointy and easy to pierce this type of tape/yarn. I also DO remember the saleslady saying something about being able to use double pointed needles – size not really mattering – as long as whatever I chose was pointy – and on the ‘smallish’ size…. Thanks again!

  2. Thanks for the Lion Brand link — that helps. The other pattern is sorta hard to follow, being that it’s a so-so translation from German to English. This helps! 🙂

  3. I just started knitting a scarf using the ruffles yarn, but not quite sure how to bind off with this yarn, since the knitting technique is a little different. I just love the look of this scarf (just like your photos).

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

  4. I’m currently in the process of knitting this scarf. The free pattern can still be found at the following website:

    http://www.knittingfever.com/c/yarn/on-line-linie-294-solo/

    Hope this helps!

  5. I’ve alreade knitted two of those. I was given told to knit with the wrong side of the ribbon facing me; this way the ribbon will curl towards the outside of the scarf.

  6. This Fluffy Ruffle pattern is not on the knitting fever website. They only show the pictures of the Solo L194 and L294 yarn. Could someone help with obtaining this ruffled scarf pattern? Thanks.

  7. thanks for your help with working with this yarn!

  8. I have made the scarf but don’t know how to cast off! Help!

  9. Hope this helps a bit. It doesn’t say how to cast off, though. And she is knitting with 2 types of yarn.

    [video src="http://www.lionbrand.com/podcasts/ruffles.mp4" /]

  10. I rec’d a pattern (it’s here somewhere) that suggests gathering along the center of the ribbon so there is a color on either side. Has anyone else tried that?

  11. Chinese Tallow trees in the U.S. have spread rampantly in the east and south. They sprout up in grasslands transforming them into

Leave a Reply

