I’m a joiner! Me, too!

I never used to be a joiner at all, and certainly not for knitting, other than hanging with knitters.  I have way too many projects going, for family, friends, and me, and don’t need any additional projects or GUILT!

So why have I suddenly joined 3 knitting happenings in the last 24 hours?

Temporary insanity?  Biorhythms (you know what I mean)?  Or am I just — ready?

Actually, I think it’s just that all 3 of these are low-pressure and sound like a lot of fun.  Granted, the Dish Rag Tag is ‘competitive’ knitting — but remember, I knit best with deadlines!  And a washcloth is a minimal commitment, one I can whip off pretty fast; plus I have oodles of dishcloth cotton already and this can help me destash, since you do get rid of a net total of one skein of yarn (and acquire a dishcloth!).  (Sorry, signups are closed now at 200; don’t mean to rub it in, just trying to soften the blow when you click the link above.)

Then I signed up for Mystery Stole 3 Knitalong (MS3 KAL) from Melanie at Pink Lemon Twist.  Look at the stoles from previous KALs (Leda’s Dream and Scheherazade) and Melanie’s other work!  WOW!  But there’s no cost, and no pressure, in that it’s ok if you’re working at your own pace, and a beautiful lace stole at the end!  And I have been wanting to try knitting with beads (an optional part of the shawl) and actually have tiny crochet hooks that I got on eBay as part of a larger knitting estate sale, so am all set for the style of beading she suggests (which appeals to me more than the technique I’ve usually seen, stringing the beads on ahead of time).

Lastly, I was blog-grazing last night and ran across a mention of the Yarn Pirate’s new Sock Club (“Booty Club”).  As of this writing, there are a few spots left, so I’ll hurry up and get this out in case any of you are interested.  Reasonable prices and an exclusive hand-dyed sock yarn skein per month!

OK, I’m done now.  I think that’s enough extra commitments. But they all are going to be so much fun, and all different!

Here’s the FO of the day, a recycled sari silk scarf from Mango Moon, meant for my sister-in-law’s upcoming birthday. 

sari-silk-closeup.jpgsari-silk-scarf.jpgscarf-of-infinity.jpg 

She’ll like the fact that the proceeds go to supporting Nepali women who are escaping abusive situations.  And she doesn’t even know yet that I have a blog, so it will still be a surprise!

Leave a Reply

