VKP!

Visible Knitting Progress!

Here’s Pink Fuzzy posing on Giant Hosta;

please ignore the fact that it apparently took me almost a week to finish one single sleeve! pink-fuzzy-posing-on-hosta.jpg

You all know how garter stitch stretches, right? How the 5-foot garter stitch scarf becomes a Dr. Who scarf with wear? Well, that worked in reverse for me with this; when I had the cardigan on the needles, top down, the needles weighed down the cardigan and stretched it way out, with this super light, fine yarn. Even when I laid it down to measure. Then when I cast off — POOF! A foot shorter! Or at least 6 inches, I swear! Not so much with the sleeves, and now I’m wise to its tricks, anyway. It’s still OK, but I pictured it being longer. Glad I didn’t bind off any sooner.

It was almost dark when we came home from the Gothlet’s school talent show (she tapped to “Rhinoceros Tap”, choreography by her, me and (one set of steps from her recital) by her dance teacher Jen; and sang “Can’t Buy Me Love” a cappella with a friend). So just a couple pictures from the garden tonight:

fern.jpg

Love this silvery fern.

night-garden.jpg

Another mystery plant.  Any ideas?

6 responses to “VKP!

  1. Lovepink fuzzy, of course I’d prefer it in black. It will probably stretcha bit when worn.

  2. mmmm, mmm. pink fuzzy looks comfy
    I love Sandra Boynton!! My kids are living inside the dog train right now🙂

  3. Posed like that, Pink Fuzzy actually LOOKS rather like the silver fern – or the blossom of the giant hosta. Very pretty indeed – makes my inner dancer all nostalgic for the days when I was still taking class.

    Mystery plant looks to me like some strain of aquilegia – AKA columbine.

  4. Penstemmon?

  5. Tammy is exactly right! When I Googled penstemon, I even found the exact cultivar (isn’t that what people who know call it? — Penstemon “Husker’s Red”. I’m a like-to-know person, so mystery plants drive me slightly batty.
    Thank you, Tammy!

  6. I just know cause my favorite nursery guy talked me into buying one last year and I LOVE it. It came back even better this year – more full and better flowering. Hope you enjoy yours – I have mine. Thanks for the correct spelling too – I’ve never googled it so have no clue how to spell or pronounce! Love the fern, I’m putting in a shade garden under a large tulip poplar and you’ve inspired me to look for one like it locally. Also great website – love your photography. Tammy

Leave a Reply

