Weekend Update with hints o’ Sun(flower)

Unfortunately without shawl progress photos: I haven’t gotten the Girasole all spread out to take an up-to-date photo.  But I am knitting on the edging as of late last week!  That’s the good news.

The bad news: 640 stitches per row; each stitch to bind off equals TWO  rows of the lace edging, though short rows and pretty simple garter lace.  Still.  I was thinking 640 rows, and when I realized it was 1280 rows, it made sense why progress was so slow.  (Each lace pattern repeat is less than 0.5% of the total circumference of the shawl.  Gah.  Maybe I had better stop calculating right now.)

When I have more bound off, I should be able to photograph it (right now it’s all bunched up on the needles) and of course soon there should be a blocking shot of the Golden Girasole!  In the meantime, there was a bit of sunshine to knit by this past weekend, just as I wished for last week.

Saturday’s Sky, a neighbor’s sugar maple tree:

Saturday-Sky-October-Sugar-

and again:

Parade-of-trees

I admit, I didn’t specify anything as far as wishes for temperature.  With the result being temperatures 20 degrees below normal.  Oh, well, at least we didn’t get more than a trace of snow before the clear-and-cold….

(No, the snow waited for TODAY.)

Despite the cold, I had visitors from the Twin Cities yesterday, just coming to see the area, tour around, hang out for a bit!  We went to Salem Stitchery & Knittery (formerly Country Woolgatherer) where Tammy was having a fall Open House and sale; and then had a nice drive around the orchards and Grandad’s Bluff.

Three-Eagleteers

Nicole, Jonelle and Becca.  Above, outside Salem Stitchery; below, Nicole perusing lovely yarn inside.

Armful-o'yarn

Oohing and Aahing about the Mississippi River Valley from the Minnesota side. 

peekchurs

Though we had to watch out for the herds of lawn deer roaming La Crescent.

herd-of-lawn-deer-plus-frie

We even saw an eagle on top of Grandad’s Bluff!

Look!!

The-Eagle-on-top-of-Grandad

3 responses to “Weekend Update with hints o’ Sun(flower)

  1. Whoa! It’s probably best not to do those calculations…a little daunting.

  2. I calculated for that linen stitch shawl, but then it was just a big rectangle and easy to do. The big number was impressive to non-knitters, but even a sweater has many thousands of stitches. Never mind your Girasole, whew, calculating that would make my head hurt. But then I am not super quick with calculations…

    Looks like you all had a grand time! And what lovely color.

  3. Oh, man… those pictures make me homesick! I’ll have to take hubby to Grandad’s Bluff when we visit next summer.

Leave a Reply

