Quick Fun, Lots of Pictures

Last weekend, Labor Day, though I had to work much of the weekend, there was one day that ended up free of  needing to go into work.  So, to celebrate the adjoining birthdays of husband and daughter, a flying visit to the Twin Cities happened!

I showed you  the twilight photo from Hyland Lake Park Reserve….that was a Saturday Sky picture from Saturday night last weekend.  But we hopped in the car earlier Saturday afternoon, crossed the Mississippi River under a blue, blue sky

 

(one of several egrets watching us go by in the backwaters of the river)

and headed north to a hotel I had found for a great deal on Hotwire, at the intersection of Hwys 494 and 100.  

(We weren’t the only ones finding a great hotel deal.  This hotel wasn’t even built yet, and it was drawing a crowd:)

 

Coming soon?  Cant wait!

Coming soon? Can't wait!

 

After we settled in, the birthday girl and her father wanted to go to the Mall of America; the Gothlet agreed; and I wanted to be part of the family but also was looking at this view outside the hotel:

Bloomington Saturday Sunet

Bloomington Saturday Sunset

It was a gorgeous night, and we were very close to a nature reserve (much closer than to the MOA!).  So I chose to go for a lovely walk instead.

There were multiple lovely views of the Saturday Sky:

 

Sumac shadowed

And then, as I walked back into the developed area where the hotel was, and night fell and the moon rose, it was still lovely.

An urban lake reflecting Saturday Sky:

Then the full moon became part of the streetscape.

Can you see it there?

How about now?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After the shoppers returned, and a good night’s sleep was had by all, we set off for our actual destination: the Minnesota Renaissance Festival.  

Adornments were acquired:

 

she wishes

she wishes

Food and drink were consumed, archery was watched and cheered (there was a longbow tournament), all manner of fun was had.

Knitting, of course, occurred.  My Monkey socks came with me, and were knit upon.

But, sadly, I needed to be back that night, so as the sun set we were on the road again, and pulled into our driveway as a pumpkin moon rose.

Short but most enjoyable.  Sometimes you have to snatch your fun times!  Especially in such a good cause.

Happy birthday to my 14-year-old RockStar!  And my beloved husband (who would not thank me for trumpeting his age).

7 responses to “Quick Fun, Lots of Pictures

  1. It’s great to see more photos of my hometown! Looks like you went for a walk around Lake Normandale and the nearby wetlands. There’s also a creek nearby, perfect for catching tadpoles and the like.

    I think you made the right choice skipping the MoA. I try to go there as rarely as possible.

  2. Happy birthday, Rock Star and Mike!

  3. Happy Birthday!

    I was at the Ren Faire on Sunday. I wonder if we passed each other along the way. If you saw a lady pulling a red cart with 2-4 children in it (my friend at times was holding their hands) then that was me. Hope you had fun.

    S

  4. Wow – I about had a heart attack when I saw that nose ring. Does that make me old?

  5. Sounds like a lovely time.

  6. love the hair adorm=nments did you have them done at the fair have never been to one Know their is one held near here late in the year but was working last year hope I amhome this year so I can go along the socks look good but maybe you should have been spindle apinning more in with he day.

  7. What beautiful sunset and moonrise photos! It looks like a great mini-vacation.

Leave a Reply

