Weekend (Mess O’) Knitting Update

It doesn’t feel like I’ve been doing incredibly much knitting — I think, just not that much blogging!

But I have a couple knitting FOs to show and tell.

First, what I was working on at Wisconsin Sheep and Wool last weekend:

The RockStar’s School Colors Mitts!

She wanted them alternating colors instead of matching, so I obliged.  Made from Regia Nations self-striping sock yarn, from my own fingerless mitts pattern, except on 48 stitches (it was seeming a bit tight at 40 stitches, though it probably would have been okay; these are loose.  But I also know these will get abused, i.e. machine washed and dried, so allowing for possible shrinkage seemed wise!)

Secondly, a bad picture of a Twisted baby hat in Kabam yarn base, Braider colorway (had to take the picture at work, immediately after finishing on my lunch break, and before sending the hat off with my husband to pass on to its recipient):

Also my own pattern, knit for a friend’s new grandbaby.

Third, this was the week I received the box from DishRag Tag (The Sequel).  The box took THREE DAYS to get from Chicago area to me, one state over, by Priority Mail, so I felt obliged to do a same day turnaround if possible (aided by the presence of an Automated Postal Center at our post office, open till midnight!).  Our mail gets to our house late (4 – 6 pm), and I got home from work at 5:30 pm in any case.

The box was finally there!

Wonderful dishrag from Katie, a teammate on our DishRag Tag team, “Dishin’ It Out”, as well as yarn to knit another, the most amazing chocolate-and-spice scented soap, and plenty of yummy things, as well as the official DRT pattern & instructions.

Of course there was kid stuff to be done this night: specifically, after dinner, The RockStar had a Nutcracker rehearsal (Chinese!).

I’d already knit the edging by the time I needed to drive her (my husband had a gig in another city).

But the dance studio is right by a Panera.  So I bought a cup of decaf and settled down to knit away for an hour and a half (Gothlet being well ensconced at home).

While reading the book for book club!  (Might account for the odd bit of froggage I had to do.)

Only 8 more rows to do when rehearsal ended; quickly done,

a few treats added to the tiny box, and then a bedtime drive to the Post Office for same day turnaround, for whatever bit of time it makes up.  Whew!

Gradual progress is still being made on Swan Lake; no new pictures.

Ditto for the walking/meeting sock (I should take a picture, I’m almost done with sock # 1).

And a combination of two things have led me to cast on yet another project:

Scrumptious new yarn in the mail, and a sore thumb.

My left thumb has been hurting for a week or so.  I thought it was a flare of some mild hand arthritis I have, though it usually bothers my finger joints (but my mother has had surgery for arthritis in this area of her thumbs, so I wouldn’t be surprised).  It’s been getting more and more sore, though.  Then, yesterday I tried to pick up a half-gallon carton of milk with my left hand and almost dropped it, the pain was so searing.  Yowzah!

That kind of pain reminds me very much of my dealings with hip tendinitis some years ago, so I’m thinking it’s tendinitis and not arthritis.  It would make sense, due to a combination of work activities and small-needle knitting (the speed cotton knitting probably didn’t help).  Purling, inelastic yarn, and stitches requiring more needle tension are all quite painful right now.

So, when this lovely yarn from Twisted came in the mail (Big Needle Club), begging to be something — a special scarf? — I thought of Anne Hanson’s pattern “Boing!” somehow.

But when I obtained the pattern, I realized it called for not only purling, but Purling Two Together Through The Back Loop: not so fun any time, but agony right now, and not designed to allow this left thumb to rest.

Thus, I decided to keep this pattern for another day, another yarn, though I think it would have looked good (here it is pre-frogging, in a bad picture)

Instead, I chose to use this great yarn in my fall-back Multidirectional-type scarf (but a variation I’m working out, which I’ll write up and publish on Ravelry).

The colors are a touch more saturated than this looks, but the photo is pretty close.  They just glow.  This is a light worsted weight tussah silk/wool yarn, currently exclusive to the club, and it’s wonderful to work with.

This is all in garter stitch except a knit-front-and-back at the beginning of each row, and a slip-slip-knit before turning the short rows (which doesn’t seem to bother my thumb too much).  This is MUCH easier on my thumb!  Just knitting does hurt a little, but given that knitting IS my stress relief, I’m happy to find some I can do without seeming to make it worse.

Boy, all this knitting adds up; maybe there’s a very good reason my thumb hurts….

Resting it otherwise, anti-inflammatories, and if I can find an appropriate splint without going to see someone (don’t have time, I leave for a meeting Tuesday, and Monday is just packed) — should help.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lastly, I was very flattered and pleased to be awarded a Blue Ribbon recently!

Toots aka Sara aka ChickenBetty is someone whose blog I’ve been reading since I started blogging.  And she was kind enough to award me, among others, an “I Love Your Blog” Award Blue Ribbon!  I may not have won any awards at Wisconsin Sheep and Wool, but I’ll happily accept this one!

Of course, Blog Love cries out to be spread around.  The Blue Ribbon ‘rules':

  1. Post the award on your blog.
  2. Add a link to the person who gave you the award.
  3. Nominate at least 4 other bloggers and add their links.
  4. Leave a comment at the recipients’ blogs so they can pass it on.

Well, that’s easy and fun!

And, though I read a number of blogs and keep them all on my feed aggregator because I love them (I should mention that my blog list over to the side is woefully out of date): there are some I read before others when I come home from vacation and there are a gazillion (OK, hundreds) of unread posts.

So, a selection of 4 from those first-read blogs:

Kmkat and her Kneedles.  Though we live not that far apart in the big scheme of things, I first found her blog through a comment The Kat(tm) left on the Yarn Harlot’s blog, as I recall.  Fun and obscure stuff, a hint of politics (local and national), nature, and some knitting!

Knitnzu.com.  I found Lisa’s blog wandering the blogosphere one day, before I had a blog, perhaps even, and misplaced it (before I knew about using Bloglines & similar feed aggregators).   Later found it again for good; apparently in the meantime I won a contest but never claimed my prize (because I hadn’t come back and hadn’t left contact info….)  So, a year or more later, Lisa sent me a consolation prize for a contest I never knew I’d won!  She has great, intermittently photogenic dogs, one of whom lends her name to the blog; she and I are about the same age with the same age kid; and share a love of the outdoors, though she is immersed in it, since it’s her work.  And, yes, knitting!

Yet another K: Knot Much of a Knitter (which title has become false pretences, Nora, my dear!) Another knitter my age with kids my age, located on the other side of my state, with a broad range of interests and well-written, insightful posts.  Newer blogger and newer knitter, It’s also been vicarious fun to see Nora ultra-rapidly gain knitting skills and confidence, egged on by a large peanut gallery!

Breaking away from the Ks (unless you spell creatively) is Cats, Sticks and Books, being the blog of Dale-Harriet, another Wisconsin knitter.  Dale-Harriet’s point of view as recounted with her own unique voice.  I always enjoy her posts, usually stop to think, and learn something to boot.  Knitting is slanted towards reenactors’ knitting, by popular demand!

I didn’t start out to single out Wisconsin (well, OK, Lisa, how about Northern!) knitters, but wanted to share with you some blogs that I really love that maybe not everyone has seen (though some of these do have a pretty wide readership).  I mean, I could have mentioned Stumbling Over Chaos, Norma, Margene, and the Yarn Harlot, among others, also, but many many of you also read those blogs!  So off I go now, to award blue ribbons in person via the comments.

8 responses to “Weekend (Mess O’) Knitting Update

  1. What do you think of that book? I tried to read it and couldn’t… then tried again and didn’t like it then either, and then looked further into the book, but it just seemed whiny to me. I liked the one with the cocktail glass on the cover better… though I forget what it’s called! And Thanks!

  2. Hmmm. We seem to read the same blogs. Great minds think alike ;-)

    Thanks!

  3. Awwwww. Thanks Cathy!!

    Great knitting, as usual.

    Happy Monday!!

  4. I’m honored to make your list of “coulda mentioneds”!

    That scarf is simply gorgeous.

  5. Nicole (ikkinlala)

    I love your scarf!

  6. Love the FOs! Now I am inspired to try knitting and reading at the same time. Be prepared for your name to be cursed and I attempt and eventually (but waaaay long after it takes the average bear) to realize I can’t do it! :-)

  7. Ohhhhh – I missed Dish Rag Tag?!?! I had so much fun last year… dangit!!

    The FO’s look great! I need to steal some of your FO majic!

  8. YAY! Glad you had fun during your leg of the race.
    Your pain sounds like carpal tunnel, I have it too. Maybe arthritis too… ?

Leave a Reply

