This Is the Scarf That Never Ends….

…it just goes on and on, my friends!

(in the (slightly amended) words of the song that my children taught me!)

Well, not really, of course, but you all know how scarves tend to seem to go on forever as far as knitting anyway; so next time I get the bright idea to make a scarf from fingering weight yarn — give me a reality check, won’t you?

If I had thought a bit, I could have knit this lovely Yarn Pirate yarn together with, for example, a soft white yarn, or knit it doubled, for my ‘Frozen Waterfall’ scarf. And I would have been done a week ago!

Not only is the row gauge killing me (I.e. many rows to the inch), but the stitch pattern is just taking a lot longer than it seems like it should to knit.

Yes, it LOOKS like garter stitch.

But it’s really TWISTED garter stitch (knit into the back of every stitch), which I don’t mind for doing ribbing, etc., in fact, I like it; but which slows me down considerably compared to plain knitting.

Here you can see the twists: look at (for example) the row of white stitches, how it looks like they have their legs demurely crossed at the ankle. The purpose of the twisted knit stitch is to keep the knit stitches neat and tidy when stitches are dropped at the end; otherwise the stitches adjacent to the dropped stitch would loosen and look sloppy.

And this is a scarf with a deadline, for the International Scarf Exchange 6, wouldn’t you know. Plus, I was counting on lots of knitting time last Sunday and at least a bit on Monday [spent being ill] so I am not where I wanted to be. As in, done. Ah, well, I have no doubt that I will be done, and I have everything else together for my pal; but there is blocking time to consider as well!

Thanks for all the (bilingual!) good health well wishes. A particularly nasty stomach bug, and I’m not 100% yet, but well enough to finish this post that I started Sunday, and show my face at work briefly.

Everything’s late blooming this spring; our lilies of the valley are just barely starting to bloom, as you can see in the scarf picture above. These are one of my very favorite flowers. Our wedding anniversary is May 27th, and I wanted lilies of the valley in my bouquet, but turns out that’s too late for them by a couple weeks.

Usually.

This year, it would have been good timing, apparently!

8 responses to “This Is the Scarf That Never Ends….

  1. A scarf from fingering weight yarn? Crazy gal. But it sounds like the finished project is going to be super pretty – I’m sure the pain will be worth it.

  2. martha in mobile

    I am in a particularly excellent position to say how lucky your pal is! I just got my blogiversary prize–thank you so much! I was expecting (and excited to get) the Harlot book, but there was so much more, and it was all so wonderful!

  3. It will be very nice when it’s done. Just keep repeating that to yourself.

  4. I love lilies of the valley, too, but I don’t have any at this house. I should fix that.

  5. I (of course) made a scarf from fingering weight yarn for ISE5. I compulsively measured it until it was long enough. You’re right – it seems to take forever.

    With the Waterfall Scarf (I can’t remember if you’ve made one before) you’ll find it grows a lot after you drop the stitches, so hopefully you won’t have to knit too much more! The color is beautiful.

  6. The first sweater I made, before I forgot how to knit, was done in twisted stockinette stitch… NOT on purpose! I couldn’t figure out why the men’s xl sweater looked like it would fit me. OOPS! Your scarf is looking great. And your lilies of the valley are ahead of ours!

  7. i once made a vest entirely in twisted garter stitch. Never again. And was my wrist sore – I somehow torque my wrist when twisting. The scarf will be lovely, though.

  8. The scarf is lovely, and those flowers are stunning.

Leave a Reply

