1520

That’s how many dollars were raised for four worthy causes in my recent Blogiversary with a Cause Raffle!

For Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières; The House that Yarn Built, supporting Make It Right/New Orleans; Knitters For Knockers (a Race for the Cure team); and the Red Scarf Fund of the Orphan Foundation of America.

You guys are AMAZING.

Here, have a bouquet of daffodils. All of you.

How about another flowering crabapple photo to look at?

Ok, Ok, I know. You all want to know who won the Wollmeise!!

Well, most of you probably know her already: The Queen of Contests herself, Chris of Stumbling Over Chaos!

She says she’s excited, not having knit any Wollmeise yet; and what’s more, even before the Random Integer Generator picked the winners, I had already tenderly wrapped the yarn in tissue paper of her favorite color. It was clearly meant to be.

The other lucky winners of wonderful prizes?

Lorette won the Knitters Without Borders Socks that Rock, ever so appropriately since this is her favorite charity and she IS the Knitting Doctor!

Martha in Mobile won the signed copy of Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s most recently published book, “Things I Learned from Knitting (whether I wanted to or not)”. This is also ever so appropriate. because Martha is an avid reader of the Yarn Harlot (meaning, of course, that she already has a copy of Steph’s book, but will welcome a signed one!), and because it was Steph’s first published work in KnitLit that led to Martha’s writing and submitting an essay to KnitLit, which led to her becoming a published author. What an awesome story!

Kristin S. won the squooshy, wonderful Unique Sheep sportweight Doctors without Borders colorway yarn. I wish you could all feel this “Footprints” yarn. Luckily, I still have another skein so I can squish it. Boing, boing. I can see from her blog that Kristin likes to knit socks, so I know she’ll love the yarn too! Go see Kristin’s Kiri Shawl which she gave her mother for Mother’s Day!

Lastly, the Random Integer Generator awarded the extra special Twisted Fiber Art yarn in Portal to Norma! Ya know, I think the R.I.G. was doing a great job till then, for a random entity, with matching prize to recipient. But as we all know, because she keeps telling us, despite showing us this and this and this: Norma is not a sock knitter. Well, she’ll just have to use it as eye candy, or make a scarf out of it, or give it away. Or suck up and knit (more) socks.

I guess that wasn’t lastly, because I have one more thing to say.

Post-Lastly:

I want to give a shout-out to some people who were especially particularly generous and, given the nature of randomness and the limited number of prizes, were not recognized by the Random Integer Generator. (Said lack of selection by RIG despite attempts at RIG bribery by people who shall not be named, but whose names rhyme with Fuchsia. The RIG, which is an internet resource since people are not truly random when asked to pick a number, cares nothing for chocolate.)

So, an extra special above-and-beyond thank you to:

Laurie, Kate, kmkat, Sarah-Hope, Lisa, Kathy B, Helen, Lucia, and Sara D M.

(A little something will be in the mail to you too….)

And, post-post-lastly, may I say that I do (of course) put my money where my mouth is and have donated to all the great causes I’ve written about. Well, as I’m currently preparing to send off lovely yarny prizes, I find out that I myself have won a prize donated for the Knitters for Knockers! How exciting! It’s an Ironstone sock kit

donated by The Knitting Basket in Richmond, Virginia. Which looks fascinating!

And, as I was scanning the Knitters for Knockers blog site to download the picture, I saw a familiar name, who I think donated through this blog, so that was rather cool too! (And I saw a Sock Camp friend’s name, also cool. Speaking of Sock Camp — I think the time has come for the great Toilet Paper Cover reveal in the near future. There are at least two people who want to see it, I know. Just to fulfill their thus-far unrequited curiosity, if nothing else, I’ll put it up. Promise not to be too disappointed, though! It did not entirely fulfill my artistic vision….

8 responses to “1520

  1. 1520 is a beautiful number!! Congratulations. And thanks for the consolation prize. I promise to make something lovely out of it. Love, Kathy B

  2. I’m delighted that you raised so much! Go knitters!

  3. Congratulations to you for raising so much money for some worthy causes! And many thanks for all your generous prizes. I dreamed about you last night! In a sideways fashion… I was walking and typing (on the edge of newspaper or a book or something, go figure) and thought, well I can’t walk and knit like Cathy, but I can walk and type, as long as the pages line up more or less…

  4. 1520 is a good number! And I never even thought of a chocolate bribe. That’s quite clever, even if it didn’t work!

  5. Thank you so much for my incredible prize! It just came in the mail and I’m about to post about it on my blog. Everything is perfect!

  6. Thank you so much for the Wollmeise! It’s absolutely gorgeous. And I did appreciate the lovely tissue paper. :) Heck, I even kept it away from Chaos, who LUVS tissue paper. *nom nom nom*

  7. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: This, that, and the other thing

  8. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: In which I report on a lot of reading and a very little bit of knitting

Leave a Reply

