From Paco’s Bed to the Convent and Home Again

Sounds like an exciting weekend, not?

It was wonderful!

Here’s me and Paco the Chippendale basenji:

furry-and-lovable.jpg

as it turned out, I did sleep in “his” bed, but he slept with Deb as he tends to hog the bed, apparently.

And here he is with his buddy Toby, both good boys: friendly-guys.jpg

(click to embiggen as desired, picture-heavy post so I decided to do lots of thumbnails today)

and with Deb: deb-and-paco.jpg.

And a lovely view of a St. Paul street from the guest bedroom: st-paul-street-view.jpg

Deb made a lovely breakfast for which Deb’s mother and also baby Mowgli tiny-baby-hand.jpg and her mother Deepa joined us. A little later, November (a person, not the month, for the temporally confused) arrived, and her car was promptly loaded full of knitting projects and comfy clothes, and its nose turned north to the convent for a private knitting retreat.

There was one stop along the way at Bonnie’s, where even the icicles try to go: even-the-icicles-go-to-bonnies.jpg.

Bonnie’s is billed as a spinning shop, but really has lots of great yarns, needles & accessories. I’m still on a yarn fast for charity, so I successfully resisted buying yarn! But I said nothing about knitting books….(forgot to take picture, I’ll show you later.)

Then to my home away from home for the next two days — here’s my cell room: home-away-from-home.jpg

and next we adjourned to the Knitting Lounge, where other knitters began to trickle in.

Once everyone had arrived and our tummies were growling, we went to dinner at a fantastic restaurant, A.T. the Black and White (here, I’ll make this one big)

black-and-white-good-times.jpg

(Sorry, Jeanne, for making you do the Exorcist thing to take this picture!).

Excellent wine was drunk (and photographed highly-recommended-by-knitters.jpg for future reference, because my brain is full these days), and amazing desserts followed. Then back to the convent and Knitting Lounge for a little more wine and Pajama Time (click for mp3 soundtrack to our evening).

its-pajama-time.jpg

(This seems to be the L.L. Bean advert Deb was referring to.)

Saturday, getting up whenever (dawn for me, but that’s late for me), breakfast with the nuns, and more knitting, interspersed with some knitters’ runs to the bakery and back to Bonnie’s, those who didn’t have time to stop Friday. Mimosas were broken out at the lunchtime potluck. More knitting. Some FOs were spotted!

storm-warning.jpg (It was observed that Marge’s socks looked just like the weather radar — severe thunderstorm warning, for sure, look at those storm cells!)

Here are knitters & some projects where I got pictures (sadly, not all, next time we need to do an FO fashion show near the end of the weekend):

Louise: louise-and-baby-sweater.jpg and her two-tone baby sweater baby-sweater-in-progress.jpg and socks louises-second-socks.jpg (I didn’t get the other pair of socks);

Joyce joyces-flying-fingers.jpg and her flying fingers, despite the temperature differential from Florida;

Paula, barbie-knitting-in-progress.jpg who gave Barbie a new career choice: barbie-rn.jpg (Barbie is going to a nursing school reunion later this year. She not only got a new outfit, she had an entire spa weekend with a hair cut and style.)
November, november-with-project.jpg who here is knitting a very awesome My So-Called Scarf, but who later in the weekend made great strides on her first sock which was looking super when we left;

Deb, who I seemed not to have captured knitting, just reading about spinning new-addiction.jpg, and knitblogging sock-blogging.jpg;

Chelle, chelles-sweater.jpg working on a sweater that I *really* want. Guess I’ll have to knit one sometime. I REALLY liked it!

Amy, who knit, knit, knit (yay for fellow speedy continental knitter! we were in a huge minority, practically an endangered species) and made great strides on several projects, and was very happy with her Day-Glo acquisitions at the White Elephant exchange day-glo-amy.jpg;

Jeanne, LL Beanster #2 above, who also knit, knit, knit on Lutea mostly, but also made an excellent snack cart attendant:

the-snack-cart-cometh.jpg

and lastly, LL Beanster #1 in the above ad, Marge, the Lady in Red favorite-color-is-a-mystery.jpg (though I just can’t quite recall what her favorite color is)

who knit the great Storm Warning socks: multiple-sensational-knitted-socks.jpg

(here one is posing with her previous pair of Noro sock yarn socks as well as Charlene Schurch’s great book).

There might have been some more wine.

The perfect wine for knitters?

the-perfect-wine-for-knitters.jpg

A wine called Lace.  It was pretty sweet for most of us, but I couldn’t resist the name!

Somehow, all the knitting, food and fun (and perhaps the mimosas and wine) distracted me, and I did not take a Saturday Sky picture as such — for the first time since I started Saturday Skying! I couldn’t even find a window in the background of any photos because I sat with my back to the window, to take most advantage of the natural light.

Here’s a substitute Friday Sky on the way up — as we passed Becker, Minnesota and this somewhat alarming sight (remember it was very cold out); correctly identified by my travel companions as a coal-burning power plant (the largest in Minnesota!). I didn’t know!

becker-minnesota.jpg

And, to close, here’s today’s Saturday Sky (does that catch me up?):

saturday-sky-on-the-ides-of-march.jpg

Not so warm, today, as it has been, but a lovely blue on the Ides of March.

12 responses to “From Paco’s Bed to the Convent and Home Again

  1. Sounds like a lovely trip. Baroooo, to Paco! I have two Basenji’s at home, and yes they are all bed hogs.

  2. So, it was a coal plant! I love that you actually looked that up…

  3. Looks like a great lot of fun! What a great sweater! Maybe you can take out the hem to the color work and put in new and longer color work? (I tend to make my sweaters too short too)

  4. Looks like a lovely knitting get together! Today is my first Saturday Sky, yours is very pretty! Come visit if you get a chance.

  5. Are you sure that wasn’t the nuclear plant at Monticello? Looks like a super weekend. Maybe someday…

  6. I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

    Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

    I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

    Keep up the good work and cheers.

  7. Wow! What an awesome weekend! Looks like you had a wonderful time with a wonderful group of friends. Thanks for sharing!!

  8. What fun you all had at the retreat! It was lovely to meet you on Friday, and the photos you took of Mowgli and me are amazing.

    I think I’ll be able to make it to Little Falls in maybe another 3 years. :)

  9. Looks like we were having fun. Who knew?

  10. Paco will always welcome you into his bed. :) Great post– and now we’ll never forget the Lace or Manyana wine!

  11. Pingback: Sparkly Eye Candy Friday « Hither and Yarn

  12. I love this outfit thanks for the image

    Sharon

Leave a Reply

